Can't start up.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 12:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Angry Can't start up....

For about two weeks, my desktop (2.8ghz P4 and about 10 months old) has had problems with spontaneous shutdowns for no reason, occasional will not starts, and also the monitor going black with no apparent cutoff of CPU at times (have to reboot to get back up). Until about three weeks ago one fan in the system (not sure which) was particularly noisy for a few days, but a good dose of canned air seemed to have eliminated that problem. I have noticed that on the occasions when the system would not boot, that the CPU and motherboard (Abit IC7-G) fans would not rotate even though the lights come on (with no beep) as if to start up, and then failing. I turned off the power supply and rechecked all the connections were solid, and then the system would start up (maybe) and the fans were rotating. Last night the system cutoff while preparing to burn a DVD, and I have not been able to restart. The fans are both dead mentioned earlier, although the case fan and power supply fan are both still working. My power supply is an Antec True 380 (380 watt), and I have only one burner, a floppy drive, 120 gb HD, 1 gig of RAM, and use flash drives often. 90% of my work with the system is editing photos, and I do downloads direct from a digital SLR nearly every day. The light on the motherboard still glows as if power is getting to the LED. Does this sound like a power supply failure? When PSU's fail, do they still offer enough juice to the system to light up, but not start? I'm still sort of a newbie at the tech end, so be gentle please! Thanks!
__________________

clickhiker is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 07:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Does indeed sound like a PSU failure...yes they will have enough juice just to power on LED's and or even run some fans but will cause the comp to do the things you mention, shutting off, random reboots, things like that.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 07:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you Nubius! Am I correct that the wattage (380) should have been plenty for my set up? Is there any sound reason to go to a larger PSU? I do plan on an additional and larger HD sometime soon. Is Antec a lemmon brand, or am I just lucky (not!)? Should the data in my HD still be sound (it was during my last startup)? Thanks again!
clickhiker is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

yeah your hd will still have everything on it- yeah its definitely a psu problem.
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 02:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

i have an IC7-G, mobo just like you, woohoo
comrad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.