Can't Start Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2004, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default Can't Start Up

Hi,

Recently I have been having problems with my computer. Whenever I turn it on, it all starts up normal, but then the monitor just turns off. I've tried it with two monitors, which leads me to believe it's something within the actual PC. The only thing I believe is it is overheating almost instantly. I have been getting that problem when I was able to actually get on. There is actually a rather hefty amount of dust within the PC, which I have yet to remove. Could this be the problem? Possibly it actually slowing down the fans which in result overheats the PC? Any help is strongly appreciated!

Regards,
Excelsium
__________________

Excelsium is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 02:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

How hot is your computer running? Also, your RAM may be getting too hot. I tried overclocking my RAM once and had this problem.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default

That's the thing, I don't know. I haven't overclocked my ram, but how did you lower it, if I may ask? My computer is a Hewlett Packard, with the following specifications:

Intel P.4 2.4GHZ
512DDR
GeForce FX 5200 128MB
80GB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Excelsium is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

Try these things:

1. Re-seat processor
2. Make sure you dont have your anti-burn regulator set to low, which is found in the bios.
3. Make sure processor fan is spinning.
__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Well, I'm not sure what the processor looks like, or even how to access the BIOS?
Excelsium is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 04:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

So does your pc turn off or does your monitor just loose signal and turn black?
__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 06:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default

My monitor looses it's signal and turns black, the button goes orange, instead of the regular green, that is on the monitor.
Excelsium is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 04:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
Default

Have you got an old graphics card around to try out? This would eliminate it as a graphics card problem. Your not doing something silly like not realising its gone to sleep are you? I went to sort someones computer out last week who had the same problem. One press of the escape key and it was all up and running. You never think of the simple things.
hooloovoo is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 12:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default

I don't have a graphics card around. I tried pressing escape, didn't work. Any other suggestions?
Excelsium is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 02:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Do you see anything when you turn on your computer?
__________________

-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.