cant partition hard drive at all - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2005, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to panish
Default cant partition hard drive at all

Heres what i have

Maxtor 200GB IDE
DFI LanParty Mobo
xfx 6600gt
512 pc2700


Here's what happened:


OS messed up w/ 2 100gb partitions

it would restart as soon as it starts to load windows

tried formatting 2nd partition, wont boot

using copy commander i tried deleting the partitions, the wierd thing is, it showed up as 2 100gb partitions as it should, with an extra 189 gb unpartioned space that can not be touched.

so i delete the 2 partitions and all i have left is the 189 gb of free space and i cant do anything with it



i also tried installing windows and it shows up as 130gb unpartitioned and i try installing on it, it copys files then on restart it says operating system not found








any ideas as to what to do or what programs to use would be great

thanks
__________________

panish is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to Crazyd9483
Default

ok listen... with windows xp if your using an operating system on it .... it will only give you 130 gb's on it... i don't know why but, i ran into the same thing... w/ my seagate 200 gig... so i bought a 80 gig and installed windows... hooked up the 200 gig and formatted it threw windows and it came out fine... i don't remember the process i took but, when trying to format your 200 gig hd read what it tells you to do threw windows and go that way... hope it helps...
__________________

Crazyd9483 is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I suggest you
delete any partitions
boot from XP disc
create a partitions smaller than 127GB
install XP
install service pack 1a and create a partition on the remaining space.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Windows XP requires at least SP1 to account for than 130GB(?) of drive space.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to panish
Default

that is true about the windows and 130 gig deal, but the main problem it that i can not reformat the drive its like it is locked or something.

what would be best is if someone could suggest a program that can format and/or diagnose drive, because it is acting very strange.

i may have failed to mention also that when i try to install xp on the 130gig partition it fails to boot after the intial DOS setup
panish is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try Powerquest Partition Magic 8.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to panish
Default

D'oh!! i forgot i had that program thanks i will go try that
panish is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The hard drive company will also have utilities availible for download from their site.

Have the tried fdisk?
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 08:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to panish
Default

OK! that prog works i partitioned it in 2 100gig sections, BUT when i try installing xp it still wil not work!

ERROR LOADING OPERATING SYSTEM

what?!!?

thats what it says after the initial formating and loading of installation files onto the hd



that doesnt make sense unless my hd is bad which also doesnt make sense because it works as far as partitioning and the first part of windows installation AND running as slave.
panish is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 08:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Well first create a partition with Fdisk. Then install XP. Then Install PartitionMagic 8, and maybe you might be able to repartition ur hard drive like this. Just a guess.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.