Can't get my PC to connect to my TV - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2013, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: England
Posts: 1
Default Can't get my PC to connect to my TV

Hi there,

first things first here's my specs:

Intel Core i7-3770k CPU 3.50GHz
8.00GB RAM
64-Bit OS Windows 8
ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series

I currently have a duel monitor setup using one HDMI slot and one DVI slot on the card. Although there is another DVI slot below the current one in use but when I connect it to my TV I don't get a picture or anything.

Could anyone help me? or suggest something better, easier than this as everytime I want to watch a movie on my TV from my PC I have to unplug one monitor and run a 5M HDMI cable to my TV, uplug my PS3 etc. and its getting annoying as I use my PC and watch movies often.

I bought this cable:

DVI-I connection cable, DVI - 3 x phono fono RCA: Electronics


Joelksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 10:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Dauntae's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Can't get my PC to connect to my TV

I'm using a Nvidia card but I have my tv also set up and in the control panel I turn the port on and off for the tv, might be a setting in the ATI setup to activate that plug for the tv


New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Spartan109's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 82
Default Re: Can't get my PC to connect to my TV

I've personally never had luck with those cables, id reccomend a dvi to hdmi adapter then use an hdmi cable to your tv, but youd also need to connect another cable for sound, unless you have a seperate speaker system youd be using
Spartan109 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.