can't get into bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2007, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,023
Default can't get into bios

On my dads computer I do not know how to get into the bios. It just beeps then goes straight to the windows loading screen with nothing on the screen prior to that. Does anyone know how to get into the bios on these types of computers?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 06:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,971
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: can't get into bios

yeah, u can purposly cause an error. For instance, install a floppy drive, let the computer boot and recognise it, then remove the drive again. POST should stop loading and say press F1 to continure or DEL to enter setup, or something like that.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 04-22-2007, 04:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,023
Default Re: can't get into bios

I tried that , it just says remove disk and press any key to restart then when I do tht it goes right to windows
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 05:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default Re: can't get into bios

Sometimes you need to hit the esc key to bring up POST information.

Also, usually you can pause the POST process by hitting the Pause key if the system POSTs to fast.

The common keys to access the BIOS are F2 and Delete. When powering on the laptop, tap the F2 key continuously. If that fails, then try tapping the Delete key continuously. If both of those keys don't work, try all of the F keys (F1, F2, F3...) in the same way.
__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Re: can't get into bios

Most common ones Ive seen are F2, F10, F12, and DEL. Just randomly jam F2 when booting, if it doesnt show the bios, try the next one.
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Please! PC won't boot up after BIOS upgrade! Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 09-29-2007 06:49 PM
Bios for thinkpad cmason561 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-09-2007 03:15 AM
update bios Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 07:42 AM
set screen resolution in BIOS changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-30-2007 06:38 AM
opening BIOS rom file Calibretto Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-28-2007 07:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.