Can't get above 60hz/1070 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2017, 05:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 72
Default Can't get above 60hz/1070

This is driving me crazy so some help would be greatly appreciated.

Benq XL2411T
ASUS GTX 1070 oc
WIN 10

I tried using the DVI dual link cable and windows wont even acknowledge it (?), so I tested the cable on another monitor and it's fine (with the same gpu). I then bought a HDMI 2.0 so I could get at least 120hz but, after testing it out I cannot get over 60hz at 1080p resolution, it will only allow me to go to 120hz at 1440x900, which needless to say isn't good enough. I've tried changing it in windows and in NVIDIA control panel but to no avail as the options just aren't there.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
dkingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2017, 01:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,170
Default Re: Can't get above 60hz/1070

When you tried the DVi cable did you switch inputs on the monitor?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 08:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 858
Default Re: Can't get above 60hz/1070

Try using display port. My monitor goes to 75Hz and display port allows this functionality easily.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,170
Default Re: Can't get above 60hz/1070

His monitor is HDMI and Dsub.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 72
Default Re: Can't get above 60hz/1070

I think it's the monitor DVI port. I bought a new monitor and it worked without a problem.

Thanks for reply's.
__________________
dkingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2x 980 SC or 1 x 1070 TheHumanComputer System Upgrades 15 09-29-2016 05:38 AM
120Hz vs 60hz Talyor Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 11-02-2012 01:24 PM
Toshiba A65 S-1070 jugador22 New Technology and Products 1 01-03-2005 07:31 PM
Toshiba A65 S-1070 jugador22 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-03-2005 02:35 PM
60hz Refresh Rate Problem Sparda_X Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-16-2002 11:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.