can't find it - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2008, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston, BC, Canada
Posts: 174
Default can't find it

hey all,
how to I find out stats on my CPU, motherboard, Ram, and video card?
I want to look into overclocking a little bit, but I want to know what I have before I start looking into it. Mostly because I may need help and want to be able to give accurate figures and numbers when asked.
thanks
__________________

scroudt is offline  
Old 08-21-2008, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: can't find it

Hello,

There are programs that you can use to find this info. CPUz, Belarc Advisor, SiSoftware Sandra, Everst are among the most well known to do this.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-21-2008, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston, BC, Canada
Posts: 174
Default Re: can't find it

thanks
scroudt is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 10:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: can't find it

if you don't know already, chances are you have a prebuilt. If it is(dell, hp, gateway...etc) then you won't be doing any overlocking....

Mac listed a lot of good software, GPUz is another one i think
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston, BC, Canada
Posts: 174
Default Re: can't find it

I don't have a prebuilt, I built it myself. I chose every component myself and put most of it together. the only thing that I didn't install was putting the motherboard into the case and installing the CPU. only because I bought them at the same place and they put it in before they sent it out.

I didn't know because most of my computer is almost 5 years old now.
scroudt is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: can't find it

download cpuz, that should tell u pretty much everything you need to know. Coretemp is good for temps, do u have your stock cooler or aftermarket?

@waffle :apparently a lot of dells now a days do not have the overclocking lock on them (infact im helping someone oc right now on a dell)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 03:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston, BC, Canada
Posts: 174
Default Re: can't find it

thanks,
I still have the stock CPU fan. I meant to buy and aftermarket one, but never got around to it.
scroudt is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: can't find it

Then you should definitely look into buying an aftermarket cooler before ocing. As the stock heatsink will severely limit your overclocking.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSN Helps Cops Find Stolen PS3 Osiris Sony Playstation 4 09-21-2008 10:17 AM
Installing XP: Setup did not find any hard discs installed Aesrin Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-26-2008 08:31 AM
new build cant find where power switch plugs into the Mobo? nastsystems System Upgrades 17 03-16-2008 06:33 PM
Built in microphone-I can't find it dannyual767 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 01-26-2008 01:58 PM
help me find it cheaper robina_80 Off Topic Discussion 5 01-04-2008 07:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.