Can't boot computer to do new HD install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2005, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
Default Can't boot computer to do new HD install

I'm trying to do a fresh OS install on my older 2nd system (my kid's)-
PII- 233 MHZ, 128 Ram, 2 G Quantum Bigfoot HD, 20 G WD 200 HD.
Originally this Compaq Presario came with the 2 G HD, and I later added the 20 G HD. It started having many problems recently, so I planned to reformat the drives and reinstall the OS, Windows 98SE, which I had upgraded from the original Windows 95. I was able to format and install the OS on the 2 G drive, when I added the 20 G drive it show up fine in my BIOS, 2G as master,
20 G as slave, the OS won't boot. I figured to format the 20 G then, but can't get the OS to boot. All my BIOS setting seem correct, I even tried using CS setup on the drives, looks correct in BIOS but still won't boot up. I try my 98SE boot disk, but it won't boot up from there either. I can't get into safe mode either. So I then decided I don't need the 2 G HD, get rid of it and install 98SE on the 20G HD. I disconnect the 2G and install the 20G as Master only in different configs., all which show up correct in BIOS. When I try to boot from floppy to format the 20G HD, it won't boot. I've tried everything. Could it be that the computer came originally with Windows 95, and my98SE boot disk won't work? Any ideas?
__________________

doodah12 is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Default

Are you sure that the jumpers on the drives themselves are set to the correct settings? It could be that they are canceling each other out at POST.
__________________

TheRanger is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Jumpers appear correct, Master, Slave, correct position on IDE cable, shows up in BIOS as Master, Slave.
doodah12 is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 09:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

First off, try formatting the ONE hard drive that you want formatted in the computer. Leave the second hard drive out altogether for now. Do not have any extra stuff connected that you do not need. And see if it will work with 98. If it doesn't then try 95 again., If that won't work, you have a bigger issue than just the o/s. If it does, THEN add back the second hard drive and see if it boots up. Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.