Can't access BIOS because monitor blank... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2004, 05:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
Post Can't access BIOS because monitor blank...

I need to the access the BIOS on my new Sony Vaio desktop PC. Unlike any other computer I've had, the monitor (Samsung 193T) only begins to display after about 20 seconds, when Windows XP is starting.

When I start the PC and click F3 to access the BIOS, the startup procedure does stop and I believe I am in the BIOS editing screen, but I can't seen anything! The monitor is blank. Therefore I can't changing the BIOS settings.

I've spent hours trying to get around this annoying problem.

Can anybody help please?

Thank you - and Happy New Year
__________________ is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 05:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

What VAIO Model is it ? Does it work just booting into windows ? or are you trying to repair it ?

Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 07:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476

Try asking here,
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 08:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54

Are you sure your monitor is getting an input signal?

Yesterday, I tried overclocking my FSB in the bios and my PC would not even post. When I turned it on, my monitor was getting no signal. I had to reset the CMOS on the motherboard so the machine would post and my monitor would get a signal for me to get back into the bios.

My suggestions are to try the following:

1) If you have a spare monitor, try using that to rule out a monitor problem.

2) If you have a spare video card, try using that to rule out a video card problem.

3) Try taking out a stick of memory in running in dual channel or try inserting another DIMM to rule out a memory problem.

4) If you were messing around in the bios, you could have screwed it up like I did in which case you will need to reset the CMOS on the motherboard. You will need to look at your mobo manual on instructions on how to do this. For me, I had an NFORCE 2 ASUS A7N8X mobo and I had to do the following:

unplug the power from the power supply
press power button to make sure power is drained from computer
find circular silver battery (right next to PCI slots)
pop battery out
move the jumper that is right next to it to 2-3 (the two pins away from the battery)
count about 5 seconds
move jumper back to 1-2 (two pins closest to battery)
replace battery
plug power back in
turn on and enter bios

Hope one of these suggestions sets you on the right path!
gimpycow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.