Cant access BIOS! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Angry Cant access BIOS!

Ok, so I recently got interested in OCing and wanted to access the BIOS/CMOS. I looked at my mobo manual and it said to press delete during the power on self test. I did and it worked...once. Now I can't access the BIOS. I press delete and nothing happens, it just keeps booting up. I've also tried pressing F1, F2, etc. Can somebody help me please! Is there an alternate way to access BIOS?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

sucks
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Just keep hammering the delete key
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Ya just keep hammering the delete key or F2 right from start-up.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 11:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 115
Default

lol, your just not pressing it at the right time, or maybe your delete ke is broken?,lol!?

If its just the bios you can't access then i wouldn't be too worried.
McKlaxxhammer is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 12:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by McKlaxxhammer


If its just the bios you can't access then i wouldn't be too worried.
Fool. It is 'just' the bios, but this is the bios dude. That cant be good. As soon as you turn on your computer, immediately and repeatedly start to hit the del key. Keep doing it until you get into the BIOS, or until you get to the Windows splash screen. What MoBo do you have? Need some system specs here, dude.

What was it that you did the first time you entered the BIOS? Did, you bump up the speed too much or do the wrong thing maybe? If you messed with the clock and the mulitplier, do you have a good cooling system set up? If you OC, you cantt simply use the stock cooling system. Water cooled is what you want to do if you're OC'ing. Make sure you really know what you are doing too. Maybe you would want to talk to some of the elites up in here about OCing.
Him is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 12:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Dude try and update ure bios then try accessing it again that could work. Just a thought.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 05:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

If you're sure the DEL key is working & pressing it repeatedly isn't getting you into the bios, then only other thing you could try is clearing the CMOS.
Do this using the Clear CMOS jumper on the mobo. You may find that doing this causes the system to pause when you power it on & display a message about CMOS or CPU settings being changed. It should then let you go into the bios. Be warned however that clearing the cmos will reset all settings back to factory defaults.

Also, are you using a USB keyboard? If so, try a PS2 keyboard first before clearing the cmos & see if this helps.
Samm is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 05:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Clear the CMOS and flash a new BIOS and try again.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 05:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Also, are you using a USB keyboard? If so, try a PS2 keyboard first before clearing the cmos & see if this helps
Good thing to point out there. I don't think I've ever been able to get into a BIOS with a USB keyboard
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.