Canon MP730 Doesn't Print Scans Properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2012, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 2
Default Canon MP730 Doesn't Print Scans Properly


I'm really hoping someone can help me. I'm by no means really proficient with printers and a client of mine (I train people on software) is having problems with their printer and have asked me for some help. I think I am in over my head but if someone can point me in the right direction, that would be really great.

They have a Canon MP730 which works perfectly except that when you try to print a file that was scanned and e-mailed, it prints extremely slowly and really light. You can see the image but its really faint. It doesn't seem to matter if it was scanned as a JPG, TIFF or PDF. And its from anyone who scans and sends the file, not just one person's computer. We have tried opening and printing the files using different software apps and that doesn't make any difference.

The unit prints all other files just fine (xls, doc and pdfs that weren't scans). I'm not sure what I'm missing here but I would really like to try and help him as he uses the printer for business purposes and often needs to print scanned files.

Thanks for your time!

WendyW is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
GhOsT1321's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Canon MP730 Doesn't Print Scans Properly

Check the printer settings or properties. It may be set to something similar to "ink saving" for printing image files.
Change some settings to quality instead of draft and see if the issue improves.
I have had the issue of my printer printing certain lines very lightly unless it was on quality printing.

Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 02:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 2
Default Re: Canon MP730 Doesn't Print Scans Properly

Thanks for the suggestion GhOsT. I seem to recall setting it to "normal" print quality when I last tried it. I'll see if changing it to high quality makes any difference.

WendyW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Print Images On Multiple Pages With Image Print Wizard Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-18-2010 07:55 AM
Core i7 doesn't perform properly cnico88 New Systems | Building and Buying 26 01-12-2010 02:48 AM
Messed with router, now internet doesn't work properly. gsteg Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-26-2005 08:26 PM
Print Server for Canon iP5000 noise_watch Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-13-2005 01:24 PM
Canon iP5000 and Print Server noise_watch Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2005 05:48 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.