cannot detect HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2005, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Default cannot detect HDD

When i try to install Windows XP it says that "it cannot detect the Hard Disk and i need to install it or sommat"

Im a total newb at BIOS and that so could some1 tell me some instructions on how to fix my hard disk with full details.. i would be real greatful

When i go to Auto-detech on the setup... it dont detect it.. it just says Detecting....

DiscJockey is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530

Do you have a normal IDE hard drive? If it is an SATA then you have some drivers to load first before you can install an os.

FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15

i got a normal IDE hard drive, it was working perfectly yestoday but when i try to install windows xp there some was errors like 'Cannot load Kernal 32' or somthing. After i restarted it, it just says Detecting...
DiscJockey is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Make sure your XP disc isn't scratched or something along those lines.

Also double check that your connections are secured. Sometimes I've had crap like that happen and all it took was unplugging the cables from the HD and the mobo and putting em back in again
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313

I would agree with Nubius. Besides checking the IDE connections, I would also check the power cables. Do you hear the HDD spinning up when you power on your PC?
You could say I've been around.
Shakie is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15

what your trying to say is that the HDD might be damaged physically??

is that possible because i just tried to install some o/s.. i didn't mess with the actual HDD
DiscJockey is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119

just try the connections like they suggested- and if the HD is spinning at startup, that narrows it down.
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 06:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15

nope, the HDD wasnt working.. seems like it was defected.. i got a new HDD now.. thanks for all the help

DiscJockey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.