cannot complete the cd writing wizard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2004, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Default cannot complete the cd writing wizard

My Memorex CD writable drive won't work any more, it gives me a window with the message posted in the subject line. I have the Roxio easy CD creator version 5.1. I'm using windows XP home addition. This is so frustrating!!!

Has someone dealt with this issue?
__________________

smokindog is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

No but somethings I would try is a different program up to update the firmware
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

try using another program and get the latest firmware update... also make sure that your not setting your write speed higher than what your system is capable of in ur writer settings
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Make sure the firmware is for that exact model.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Default

ok I'm going to try some other software and ag3 I'm using the software provided with that specific drive
smokindog is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 03:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

software and firmware are different. Firmware is the program INSIDE your dvd burner. You have to go to the manufaturer's site to check for a new one. It is the Operating System of your burner.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 10:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Default

thanks zerozero for the info.

I've sent an e-mail to memeorex tech support, their website wasn't very helpful.
smokindog is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 06:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I am having the same problem all of the sudden. How do I get a firmware update? Is this doesn't help, do I need to reinstall Windows and such?

Thankx a lot
__________________

Jayj2k1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.