can you explain dual channel memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2005, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default can you explain dual channel memory?

does dual channel mean its 400 mhz ram or higher instead of dual channel ram which is 333 mhz or lower?

is it that big of a difference?

thx
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

wha? 400MHz RAM is a completely different RAM from 333MHz

all dual channel means is it access both memory sticks at once instead of only one and then accessing the other until the first fills up.

It's anywhere from 5%-20% performance increase but it's nothing insanely noticeable in speed.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I have read about Dual Channel only giving an extra 1% to 5%. Either way, its pretty small.

A lot of people get DDR confused with Dual Channel. Nubius gave a nice explanation on Dual Channel. DDR just means that the RAM transfers data twice for every clock cycle. For example, if a stick of RAM is getting a clock pulse that is going at 200MHz, it will transfer data 400 times per second. This is how DDR RAM receives a frequency of 200MHz, but then it is called DDR400.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I guess thats why my 400 mhz memory was listed at 200 mhz in everest home edition. (My P4 is 800 mhz FSB)
macdawg is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I have read about Dual Channel only giving an extra 1% to 5%. Either way, its pretty small.
Yeah I've only seen it in one place as 5%-20% but like you said and I agree, it's minimal.

Quote:
I guess thats why my 400 mhz memory was listed at 200 mhz in everest home edition
It's not technically 400Mhz though...200 is the actual MHz, DDR stands for DOUBLE data rate, because it does cycles on both the rise and fall of data so it's 200x2 = 400, that's how they get DDR400 otherwise known as PC3200...it's given that because it delivers approx 3200mb/sec bandwidth....however in newer systems the bandwidth is optimized so on AMD64's it's like 6400mb/sec, sometimes more depending on the memory controller.


Quote:
it will transfer data 400 times per second. This is how DDR RAM receives a frequency of 200MHz, but then it is called DDR400.
The fact it's "Double" data rate is why it's called DDR400, not because it's dual channel which technically DC has nothing to do with the RAM itself besides them having to be a matching pair.

It's all up to the mobo and CPU to actually run dual channel
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.