can you believe it?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2003, 02:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 153
Default

yea that was, it also bumped me from junior techie to true techie
__________________

darthparth is offline  
Old 08-20-2003, 03:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

they've got 3.2 GHZ CPU's now but I don't think they're worth getting

More dollars than sense/cents hehe
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-20-2003, 03:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

The Barton series (of which the 2800+ is one) has a descent amount of overclocking potential.. However, considering that the software developers still haven't caught up with the full potential of the 2.5Ghz processors, overclocking more than a few hundred Mhz seems a bit like using a blast furnace to light a cigarrette..

Now, I don't do alot of SERIOUS gaming, so I could be wrong, but that's just my take on things..

Alexander
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 08-20-2003, 03:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
they've got 3.2 GHZ CPU's now but I don't think they're worth getting, More dollars than sense/cents hehe
thats why im thinking of buying either a P4 @ 2.4 GHz w/ a 800 mhz fsb, is because later, i can upgrade to a 3.2 ghz chip w/800 mhz fsb, or the athlon xp 3000+ w/ a 400 mhz fsb so i can just upgrade as they come out (i dont want a p4 w/ 533mhz fsb or a xp w/ 333mhz fsb)w/o having to upgrade my mobo again


Quote:
Originally posted by darthparth
yea that was, it also bumped me from junior techie to true techie
me too lol

Quote:
Originally posted by darthparth
lol dethangel tough choice ..... i almost threw up after reading your post after our little debate
which post was that? the one with the P4 vs Athlon Xp tests? or a diff one?


and btw, im not too worried about overclocking, id rather just upgrade my chip (to be safe) and ill worry about overclocking once i have the fastest chip (by then there will be faster ones, so i aint too worried)
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-20-2003, 06:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 153
Default

nonono the crazy one with someone askin about a gaming computer, for like 2 whole pages it was us fighting lol
darthparth is offline  
Old 08-20-2003, 07:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Here's an excellent motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...ion=13-131-436

Here's an excellent processor:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...ion=19-103-377

The really cheap ones in those links are refurbished. I wouldn't bother with those.
Hi Ho is offline  
Old 08-21-2003, 10:14 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

heres what im basically looking for in a mobo:

1) 4 DIMMS that can use PC2700
2) 4x/8x AGP
3) ATA 100/133 and possibly serial ATA
4) 4-5 PCI slots

if im going with an AMD, i want support for the 400MHz FSB
if im going with an Intel, i want support for the 800MHz FSB

my biggest problem so far is finding an AMD board with 4 DIMMS, and so far ive found that a P4 2.4 ghz w/ 800 MHz FSB is cheaper (mobo + proc) than an AMD 3000+ with the 400MHz FSB, if there is an AMD chip that has the 400MHz fsb, that is maybe a little less expensive (read less expensive as lower end) than the 3000+ i would like to look at it
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-21-2003, 01:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Why do you need 4 dimms? The mother board I posted has everything but that. It can support 3.2gb of ram. What more do you need???
Hi Ho is offline  
Old 08-21-2003, 01:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i want 4 dimms so i can use my pc2700 ram (i have 1 gb in 2 512 chips and i will purchase another 512 in aout 2months and then another 512 6 months later) it is all about what i can afford, the only thing i need is the 4 dimms, im going to be really picky as i prolly wont upgrade again for another year, and i dont want to waste my money

and btw, im not saying i dont appreciate the mobo/proc you found for me (if i do go with amd, i will prolly get that proc as it is the lowest chip that supports 400mhz fsb), but im just sure about my mobo as of yet, and im not sure whether im going to intel or amd yet

intel has 2x the fsb speed, and a faster processor

amds can handle more instructions per second, which i understand to be very good for gaming, which is what this pc is for mainly
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-21-2003, 01:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25
Default

I can't say I have even seen a mother board with 4 DIMMS.
__________________

Hi Ho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.