Can non-dell hardware work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2005, 06:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
JKS
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 17
Default Can non-dell hardware work?

According to "Upgrading your PC" from QUE publisher, Dell machines after September ?, 1998 use non-standard powersupplies. While the powersupply uses the same connector as any other, the pinout on their motherboards are different from the others. If you upgrade the motherboard, you'll need to replace the powersupply as well.

Does this issue extend to PCI cards and drives? Would you have to get these from Dell?

Any other manufacturers that are known to pull stunts like this?
__________________

JKS is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Nope you can use any PCI cards and drives.

Good job reading that book by the way
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
JKS
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Thanx
JKS is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default Re: Can non-dell hardware work?

Quote:
Originally posted by JKS
Any other manufacturers that are known to pull stunts like this?
Often. That's one of many reasons most of the geek-type that hang around here prefer building their own machines.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 07:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default Re: Can non-dell hardware work?

Quote:
Originally posted by JKS
Any other manufacturers that are known to pull stunts like this?
Apple , HP, Compaq, and a few others that I know of. Why they would want to do this is beyond me though.

(OK, I know why, I just cannot fathom it...)
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 07:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I saw a Dell computer from 4 years ago that had 24 pins with two blank pins.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.