Can my system be upgraded? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 12:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default Can my system be upgraded?

I am seriously lost when it comes to hardware upgrades. My computer is just fine for everything that I use it for, but now I want to play Half Life2 and I realize my computer is too slow. I was told that I could upgrade my motherboard and my cpu and get a video card and I would be ok. Is this true? Here are some specs. Thanks for any help you can provide, this stuff confuses me bigtime. (I realize the specs are long, but I know you guys can decipher this stuff better than me and I wanted to give you as much info as possible.)


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2

Motherboard:
CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 1466 MHz (5.5 x 267) 1700+
Motherboard Name PCChips M841LR (3 PCI, 1 AMR, 4 DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN, Modem)
Motherboard Chipset SiS 740
System Memory 992 MB (DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type AMI (12/19/01)

Display:
Video Adapter SiS 650_651_M650_M652_740 (32 MB)
3D Accelerator SiS 315

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter C-Media CMI8738 Audio Chip
Audio Adapter SiS 7012 Audio Device

Storage:
Disk Drive WDC WD1200JB-00DUA3
Optical Drive DVD-ROM DVD-16X6S (16x/48x DVD-ROM)
Optical Drive TDK DVDRW0404N

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 38177 MB (26035 MB free)
F: (NTFS) 114470 MB (49820 MB free)

--------[ CPU ]--------------------------------------------------

CPU Properties:
CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 1466 MHz (5.5 x 267) 1700+
CPU Alias Palomino
CPU Stepping A5
L1 Code Cache 64 KB
L1 Data Cache 64 KB
L2 Cache 256 KB (On-Die, Full-Speed)
CPU Physical Info:
Package Type 453 Pin PGA
Package Size 4.95 cm x 4.95 cm
Transistors 37.5 million
Process Technology 6Mi, 0.18 um, CMOS, Cu
Die Size 128 mm2
Core Voltage 1.75 V
I/O Voltage 1.6 V
Typical Power 41.3 - 64.3 W (depending on clock speed)
Maximum Power 46.1 - 72 W (depending on clock speed)


--------[ CPUID ]--------------------------------------

CPUID Properties:
CPUID Manufacturer AuthenticAMD
CPUID CPU Name AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1700+
CPUID Revision 0662h
Extended CPUID Revision 0762h
Platform ID CBh (Socket A)
IA CPU Serial Number Unknown
Instruction Set:
AMD 3DNow! Supported
AMD 3DNow! Professional Supported
AMD Enhanced 3DNow! Supported
AMD Extended MMX Supported
AMD64 Not Supported
Cyrix Extended MMX Not Supported
IA-64 Not Supported
IA MMX Supported
IA SSE Supported
IA SSE 2 Not Supported
IA SSE 3 Not Supported
CLFLUSH Instruction Not Supported
CMPXCHG8B Instruction Supported
Conditional Move Instruction Supported
MONITOR / MWAIT Instruction Not Supported

--------[ Motherboard ]-----------------------------

Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID 62-1219-001131-00101111-040201-SiS740$M841LRRelease 12/19/2001 S
Motherboard Name PCChips M841LR

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type DEC Alpha EV6
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 133 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 267 MHz
Bandwidth 2132 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 133 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 267 MHz
Bandwidth 2132 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type SiS MuTIOL
Bus Width 16-bit

Motherboard Physical Info:
CPU Sockets/Slots 1
Expansion Slots 3 PCI, 1 AMR
RAM Slots 4 DIMM
Integrated Devices Audio, Video, LAN, Modem
Form Factor Micro ATX
Motherboard Chipset SiS740

Motherboard Manufacturer:
Company Name PC Chips Group of Companies
Product Information www.pcchips.com.tw/product.html
BIOS Download www.pcchips.com.tw/BIOS.html

-------[ SPD ]-----------------------------------
[ 512 MB PC2700 DDR SDRAM ]

Memory Module Properties:
Serial Number None
Module Size 512 MB (2 rows, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC2700 (166 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh
Highest CAS Latency 2.5 (6.0 ns @ 166 MHz)
2nd Highest CAS Latency 2.0 (7.5 ns @ 133 MHz)


Memory Slots:
DRAM Slot #1 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #2 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)

AGP Properties:
AGP Version 2.00
AGP Status Enabled
AGP Aperture Size 64 MB
Supported AGP Speeds 1x, 2x, 4x
Current AGP Speed 4x
Fast-Write Supported, Disabled
Side Band Addressing Supported, Enabled
__________________

KingOfHearts is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Default

All you need is a video card. That motherboard and CPU and ram should be fine to play HL2. Just get you a GeForce card or an ATI card probably about 128mb vid card should be fine.
__________________

rasputeena is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

You could upgrade your motherboard, cpu, and video card.
Nothing wrong with that.

Your computer dones't look to bad except for your videocard. Since it's integrated.

You could just upgrade the video card and try it out to see how well it runs your game. If you don't feel like it runs smooth enough, you can always upgrade the motherboard and cpu later.
With a new videocard, there should be some major difference.

Your motherboard supports max 4xAGP, and some newer video cards might not be compatible so becareful when buying.
brinks is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

brinks and ras,

You guys are saying that I could put in a video card and probably be ok right? Brinks, I believe you are saying that I can put in an AGP video card? Or does in have to be PCI or whatever the other type is? Thanks for the help, much appreceiated.
KingOfHearts is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Yep, a videocard should be fine. You need a AGP slot video card.
brinks is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

Most 8x cards are compatable with 4x boards as long as its 1.5v. So you should'nt worry about that either
xenosoul is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

If you wanna buy a new cpu go get the last athlon xp 3000+. It'll fit your board like a glove so no need for worring about incompatibilites.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

^--- I'm talking about the last version of athlon xp that'll be produced.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Yes
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 07:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

I'm assuming that the chips just pop in and out?
__________________

KingOfHearts is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.