Can MotherBoard Kill Harddrives??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2004, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default Can MotherBoard Kill Harddrives???

Hey I am trying to build a AMD-K62 system for fun and networking.

However, I have gone through like 5 of my older hard drives all with errors in the Windows installation.

So i am wondering ((It is possible they are all bad)) if it is not my MOBO that is causing the problems.

THE PROBLEMS are similar -- I am getting alot of GENERAL PROTECTION FAULTS where it tells me to REBOOT OVER and OVER again,,,, and I also got one where WHEN WINDOWS is installing and
when it gets to the point that it REBOOTS, that it DOESNT come back up again! Its just KEEPS rebooting and getting stuck OR it will take me to the SAFE MODE screen but even CHOOSING that option most of the time causes a REBOOT.

I am on my fifth Harddrive and was just beginning to REINSTALL WINDOWS again, but thought I would ask....

anyone?

Oh ya, I have for almost all of the drives, FDISKed and ALL OF THEM I REformatted.

--- ********* One last point...my PROCESSOR FAN STINKS!!! At first all I had on their was a HEAT SINK -- (SOMETHING IDIOTIC I MUST HAVE DONE AT SOMETIME OR OTHER -- I HAVE ALOT OF PARTS LYING AROUND) -- which caused SEVERAL FREEZE UP's before I realized that the CPU was getting to friggin HOT! So I found the FAN that i think was ON IT before but it is VERY NOISY and VERY SLOW -- so it is possible the CPU is still getting very hot.....SO COULD THIS BE CONTRIBUTING TO THE PROBLEMS??

thanks!
t
__________________

PatriotReview is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

i would try the hdds on another pc to confirm their badness. Probably just a bad mother board and the HDDs may still be good.
__________________

__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 04:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

So you are saying that the Motherboard could make that stuff happen then?
PatriotReview is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to mokelizer Send a message via Yahoo to mokelizer
Default

when the computer first starts press delete and enter bios, make sure your hard drive config is good, do you have the HDD set to slave or master?
mokelizer is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I have the BIOS set to AUTO on the HDDs...all the settings were correct because they were always found.
PatriotReview is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to mokelizer Send a message via Yahoo to mokelizer
Default

try turning it to manual, then select the 3 1/2 bay it is in, my friend had the same problem, except he had it on auto but he had it reading the 1.44mb disc drive, instead of the HDD has the harddrives been formatted yet? That is the first this you have to do with them before use.


+++ BTW the HDD's are set to master correct?
mokelizer is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 05:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Ya, they have been fdisked and foprmatted and some of them needed to be on master , but not all models, some need to be on Cable Select or some need to have no jumpers period.

but I know it was reading the drive so thats not the issue, but thanks!
PatriotReview is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe a bad IDE cable perhaps?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.