Can install 98 but not XP and 2000 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2004, 01:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

try underclocking your cpu in your bios.. the temps are way too high just to be in bios.. open your computer case, stick a fan there, do you have a HS/fan on your cpu? amd's overheat like a mofo but 63 is over the top.. if you have a "safe heat sensor" enabled in your bios, it could be just a simple issue of when you are installing xp or 2000 your cpu gets to like 65-66 celcius and the bios iTSELF is giving you the error beacuse of risk of it burning out on you..

Goto into bios, check to see if the hgih temp fail feature is on (or whatever its called) underclock your cpu by a bit, and try installing again.
__________________

__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 02:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Default

hey xxdryicexx this was all done before...testing the overheating and everything...the shut down temp is 73c so if what u r saying is it's too hot then im just going to send the chip back ebcause microcenter said they never saw a cpu so hot and weren sure if it was the chip or the board...well it looks like it's the chip...so ill send that back and see if that solves the problem...unless anyone else knows what the problem is...thanks

scott
__________________

untruehero is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 02:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

Send it back dude. Then Overclock ur new Processor.lol
__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 03:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

yea, if you have decent air flow in your case, a decent heatsink/fan on your cpu and even tried underclocking and its still overheating then its definitly a faulty chip.. no explenation for it going that high.
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 08:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

damn, thats hot. Yeah, return the sucker. also, adequate airflow is a must. Active heat sinks and such. 4in1 drivers (for boards like the VIA) are MBD driver sets. The update you MBD chipsets, like controller chipset, miniport (for AGP and such), IDE controllers, etc...
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 10:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Default

thanks killians im going to send it back...air flow is good i have a nice fan and heat sink, and about 6 other fans in the case...ill let you know what happens.

scott
untruehero is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 08:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Default update

hey everyone i just wanted to post an update...so i send my chip back for the barton 2500 and it turns out it was not the chip...same problem..and still overheating. so im asking for more help...has it got to be my ram? can ram cause all these problems here is the error im getting on 2000 start up and xp install.

stop: 0x0000001e (0xc0000005, 0cbffckd7, 0x00000000)

address bffc1cd7 datestump 382a167c - acpi.sys


thanks for any help.

scott

ps let me know if u need more info.
untruehero is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 08:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Okay, do this. Restart the installation. When you see press F6 for 3rd party drivers, instead press F5 and it will load the standard HAL (hardware abstraction layer). Also remove any ISA cards. However, yes to me if you keep getting the ASPI.sys error it sounds like bad memory. Try running memtest on it, of course even memtest may not find faulty memory. Best thing is swap it out with a known good mem module. You can also disable cache, it maybe SLOW, but it hopefully should help finish the installation.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 08:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Default

hey killians45, just tried that and it gave me two options one for other (which was for if i had a manufactors disk) and the other was for regualr pc, so i did regular pc and same thing happened as soon as it went to starting windows it crashed and my overheat alarm went off....it has to be the ram

scott
untruehero is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 09:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Yep, I'd agree. One other thing to try though. Go into the bios and disable the following: ACPI (advanced configuration and power interface), the shadow cache, PXE boot option/LAN boot, and also the F5. I think its the memory, but if you can be saved some money, what the hell. Dont do the shadow cache yet, do the others first as cache would be doubtful since the MBD has already been rpl'd.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.