Can I upgrade my processor? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2007, 09:22 AM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

1 thing... it's not duel core; it's dual core. duel = a fight. dual = 2. it makes big difference of what you try to say. we all know what you mean but just try to keep the wording correct so you won't mix up buying at a local retail store. Anyways yes i would suggest you to upgrade the motherboard. probably gigabyte has some good ones. also are you planning to play games on that? or just wanting a faster cpu? anyways p4 is pretty old and even pentium d is old for me too. lol.
__________________

advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 10:17 AM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

Just faster but some gaming, It handles STALKER quite well.

Sorry for the bad spelling I have bad problems there due to dispraxia.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 11:18 AM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

can u tell us what ur mobo is? everest home edition can tell from what i've heard... then flash ur bios...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 12:32 PM   #34 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

okay fells...c2d uses socket 775. +
his motherboard is socket 775. =
you can use a c2d in that motherboard. if you dont want to buy a new one, you dont have to.
okay. whats the confusion? why is there 4 pages trying to answer this question lol?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:21 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

ya but core 2 duo aren't supported by all socket 775 mobos...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 04:47 PM   #36 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

hrm didnt know that. it should be as it supports ddr2 ram, right? isnt that and the socket really all that matter? well, that and the chipset...i cant find too much info on that chipset. but what i have found leads me to believe it does not support c2d.
i stand corrected, my apologies O.P.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 10:06 PM   #37 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

ya pal, has some ECS mobo... and he went online and looked at the specs... the most it said he could upgrade to was a Pentium D EE......
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 11:40 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

Wow.. TF can't even give decent advice now.. jesus.

Anyway, do a quick google search on your chipset and C2D support.. I did it, I think from what it looked like is that the chipset supported C2D's.. might want to BIOS flash or something if you can..

Anyway, I would research to see if your motherboard can support C2Ds.. I spent like 30 seconds, so I'm sure if you put some time into it you can get more info.. if worst comes to worst, you buy the processor, find out it doesn't work, return it (might have to pay restocking fee, I wouldn't know.) and choose a Pentium D 945 or something similar.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:29 AM   #39 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathawk View Post
Wow.. tech forums can't even give decent advice now.. jesus.
dude give the advice then. jesus. and from the google search i did it looked like it didnt...
lol base the validity or quality of our input on this one post...way to go. by the way, "i think" doesnt equal "decent" advice, it equals a guess...so practice what you are preachin, mang.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 02:08 AM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

I'm giving advice. I guess you don't know what advice is. My advice was for him to do a google search and look into it more.

And yeah, that's what you should be doing in this situation. No, I don't know what the chipset supports. No, I'm not going to dedicate hours upon hours to find out something that I could care less about. I gave him advice, not a definate answer, and I'm well aware, but ****, it was better than anything else in this thread.. unless of course, you want me to tell him to buy a socket 478 CPU instead.. is that a good idea? All the other TFers thought so.

And just so you know, none of my comments in my first post were directed towards you.
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
new processor help dafunkmon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-07-2007 07:33 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.