Can I Upgrade This? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2004, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default Can I Upgrade This?

To cut back on the cost of a gaminc pc I'm building, could I just get a mobo with onboard video and upgrade to a good video card later on? I'm going to use the following parts:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-219&depa=1

http://www.circuitcity.com/detail.js...&catoid=-10263

http://www.circuitcity.com/rebatedet...oid=-8027&qp=0

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-603&depa=1

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-150&depa=1

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-418&depa=1

So couldn't I just buy this mobo with onboard video, and then when I get more money buy a Powercolor Radeon 9600XT? I've heard that I would have to get a different mobo, and possibly different RAM along with the video card! Why can't I just upgrade the video card and be on my happy way? Or can I?
__________________

__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

You JUST posted a topic about this and it had 10 replies.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=13971

Cmon bro....
__________________

__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

None of the replies answered my question!!
__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

All I really need is a simple "yes" or "no" on whether or not you can upgrade a motherboard with a video card if it already has onboard video - without buying anything else.
__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 42
Default

yes. as long as it has a agp slot ,when you get your vid card, stick it in, disable onboard vid in bios and install drivers
__________________
main rig..amd 2500mobile oc@2200,ga7n400-e-l, thermaltake silent boost, audigy2zs,creative 7.1,1024 ocz performace ram, gigabyte 9600pro,2 40 and 160gig hd, ultra x-connect 500watt ps.
amd1800
p4 1.6
hp 2.8 laptop
steve max is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 09:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

Thank you, that was exactly the answer I needed.
__________________

__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.