Can I run a hard drive and dvd on the same IDE cable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2005, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Can I run a hard drive and dvd on the same IDE cable?

Need to know how many cables I need to order. I ordered OEM parts from newegg and I assume they don't have cables included.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 03:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

If it was me I would order (2) cables. BTW, look into ROUND cables.

Put the Hard Drive on the "Primary" IDE connector as the "Master" device.

Put the DVD Drive on the "Secondary" IDE Connector as "Master" Device.

If you have a second CD/DVD drive put it on the "Secondary" IDE connector as the "Slave" device.

A second Hard Drive put on the "Primary" IDE connector as the "Slave"
device.

This is MO..........
__________________

ImUseless is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 03:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

To answer your original question, yes you could but it isnt the most
beneficial setup.

If you do run both drives on the "Primary" IDE connector:
Hard Drive as "Master" device
DVD Drive as "Slave" device
ImUseless is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it can be done but not recommended. supposedly runningb an optical drive and a hdd on the same channel produces interference. im not too sure about the accuracy of this but in an old computer i did notice i had some problems when i had a cd-rom and hdd both on the primary (i only did it because at the time i didn't have enough cables). also it is a good idea (like the 1st post) to get rounded cables they not only make things a lot easier but they make for more efficient cooling
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Ok then, I'll get two. And yes I was getting round cables.
dario03 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

i've read that if u connect them both on the same cable, the faster device runs at the speed of the slower device. correct me if im wrong
alanuofm is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 12:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you put them both on the same cable, and say you wanted to copy something from the DVD burner to the HDD, than they cannot work on the same time. The DVD burner will read it, than it will be written onto the HDD. They cannot read and write at the same time. If you have them on seperate cables, than they can read and write at the same time.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.