CAn a faulty processor kill a PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2005, 05:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default CAn a faulty processor kill a PC

I'm having a disagreeement with a guy who sold me a faulty Athlon (old slot A,) processor. He says a faulty pro can't damage my PC, but it seems to have wiped out my PSU, is it his processor that's done it? (Only stepped up from 650-750MHZ.)
__________________

zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 05:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Normally it cant damage your PC cosz if processor is faulty, the machine cannot be startup~~~
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 05:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

As soon as the processor was on the MOBO and the mains plugged back in, then the PSU kicked it....... without me actually switching the PC on. Swapped it for old processor and it worked, swapped it back and it did the same thing again.
zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 05:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

check to make sure the CPU is compatible with the MB . Also anytime you switch out a CPU make sure the PS is unplugged .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 05:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Power was off, and mobo can take upto 1GB processor.

The processor blew the PSU, I know cause i had to swap it out. But this guy refuses to accept it.
zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

If you know how take the PS apart and see if the fuse is blown .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

I am usually quite good with electrics, didn't realise that you could take the PSU apart and do anything with it, always assumed it was a sealed throw away item.

You ever seen or heard of a processor doing damage to a PC?
zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

no but im sure its possible , i allways make sure the CPU is compatible with the MB before i install it .Power supplies are pretty tuff i would think the MB would crap out b4 the PS .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

That's what I feared, but it was def. the PSU that went, so it could've been worse.

Anyone else seen or heard of a CPU blowing a PC?
zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 07:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

CPU blowing a PC would be very hard to do, and I dont think it was the CPU.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.