can a blackout damage my PC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2009, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Question can a blackout damage my PC?

Hi,

Tonight I was sitting at my PC when all of a sudden everything turend off also the lights went off.....there was a electrical failure in a few blocks for almost 2 hours. Anyway the elctricity is back now, and I have the following question:
If my PC is on and all of a sudden the electricity fails and my PC shuts off without me closing down windows, can that cause damage to my PC in any way?
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

Sure can. Can cause the PSU among various other parts of the PC to fail. I have seen Network cards, Sound Cards, Video Cards and much more get fried from a power failure and a PC not being connected to a UPS or Surge Protector.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 07:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak View Post
Sure can. Can cause the PSU among various other parts of the PC to fail. I have seen Network cards, Sound Cards, Video Cards and much more get fried from a power failure and a PC not being connected to a UPS or Surge Protector.
Thanks for your reply.

What is a UPS?

What should I do to protect my PC for such cases?
Will a surge protector that I connect my PC's PSU to be enough?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

UPS = Universal Power Supply.

Basically it is a big battery for your desktop. If the power goes out it allows you to safely shut down your PC without damage being caused to it.

You should get a UPS if you really want the best protection.

A good Surge Protector should do the trick. If it trips out before the PC. But even then the PC will still shut down suddenly and could still have damaged caused to it.

The only real sure fire way is a UPS. That way you can safely shut down your PC even with no power. No damage will be done. A Good Surge Protector will help. But is is not 100% effective every time.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak View Post
UPS = Universal Power Supply..
I think its Uninterrupted Power Supply, isn't it?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Į\_(ツ)_/Į
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

I ended up having to format my hard drive once because of multiple blackouts. I'd get booted back up and the power would go out again. The next day XP was crippled... even a Repair installation didn't help.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I think its Uninterrupted Power Supply, isn't it?
Yes it is...



Anyways, something that conditions the power, and keeps it really clean helps, as most of the time, power being cut won't damage a product unless your writing/reading data or get a small surge or spike of some sort, or a quick brown out...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 12:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

about 6 years ago (give or take 2) there was a thunderstorm in the area and lightning must have struck one of the cable lines (how when they are underground?) and a jolt of E came thru the cable modem and fried my mobo (computer was off at the time) and the cable modem. I was able to salvage everything else.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 05:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

Thanks for your replies.

So would I be safe if I use a surge protcetor and a UPS?

Would a UPS be sometihng like this:
APC Back-UPS ES 400VA 230V German/Dutch
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 06:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: can a blackout damage my PC?

yep, general rule the higher the VA figure the better and always calculate how much power you need for your monitor and PC, not much point the PC being on UPS if the monitor isn't That one you linked to can support 240W...
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New-age cyber-attack inflicts major damage with modest means Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 02-10-2009 08:14 AM
Over-volted RAM Will Damage Core i7 CPUs? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 10-08-2008 04:03 PM
Could a ziploc bag damage a USB drive? delerious Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-19-2008 12:33 AM
Could dead motherboard damage other parts? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-31-2007 10:11 PM
Forza 2 - Damage Help Oreo Microsoft XBox 3 05-13-2007 01:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.