Can Athlon 64 multitask as well as P4 with HT? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2005, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default Can Athlon 64 multitask as well as P4 with HT?

I have been noticing my athlon XP clocked at 3200+ speeds has been slowing down when handling alot of programs at once.
I used to have a P4 2.8c with Hyperthreading and it never had troubles, even with 1/4 amount of DDR!
Does Hyperthreading really help THAT MUCH?!?!
I was planning on buying a 2600+ mobile and overclocking it faster than 2.4GHz, but if I can't multitask what is it worth?

I don't want to go back to a Pentium 4 so I wanted to know if the new AMD Winchester or Venice cores will offer me the freedom to run multiple programs just like P4's with HT. How do they compare in that way?

(Whew, I'm done typing!)
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Hyperthreading does make a significant difference with multitasking, as far as I can see. I went from a 2.6Ghz P4 to a 3Ghz with HT, and it does seem to handle multitasking quite a bit better. P4's also handle multitasking better than AMD processors, as you've already experienced.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

AMD makes up for it in single thread processing.. I do a lot of programming and always have 10-20 different windows open aswell as playing music or a movie. Haven't had any problems in those areas of performance.. Plus i can play Starwars Galaxies at 1600x1200 @ max graphics aswell as Counterstrike Source @ 1024x768 @ max graphics w/o any slow downs.. Usually get 120fps in cs and 30fps in SWG when im running both at once. Its more video card than processor, but there is still a lot of cpu processing going on.

In order to get gains over intel processors you're going to want to get a 3200+ venice 939.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

AMD makes up for it with a wider bus, 64-bit, to bad its not taken full use of yet.

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

The new dual cores will be much better at multi tasking than previous AMDs. Look for Manchester (I think) and San Deigo cores.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Dont forget that Intels HT is not compatible with every program. I would say somewhere around 40% of prgrams are not compatible with dual core processing. Which is how Intels HT works. But for AMD's HTT, everything is compatible. They also have SSE3.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

SSE3 wont help that much, Intel has an advantage with larger cache, and HT does help up to a point, but its far less noticable in other OS's that have far better task schedulers than the windows kernel.SSE3 is an instruction set extension, nothing more,nothing less.

If the Intel HT scheme is indeed the real thing, it is comaptible with ANY program period, whether or not the program in question is multithreaded is another issue entirely, but if the program(s) present enough load to the CPU it should split them into separate threads on its own if it can.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 05:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

It isnt compatible with everything.. Some of the audio systems i build need HT turned off in order to get some programs to work correctly.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 05:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Then Intel's voodoo hyperthreading is indeed marketing hype and junk then isnt it?OR, its case of software that just isnt compatible with multiprocessing.I would think it would be far better to handle multiple threads and scheduling at the kernel level rather than the processor level to begin with, but both microsoft and Intel have a long history of collaboration which in many cases has hurt the industry more than its helped it.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.