Can a 400watt pull it off? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2004, 02:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Question Can a 400watt pull it off?

My antec 480 watt power supply failed on me recently and I can't return it back in becuase I diden't keep my receat from when I bought all my computer parts . So with that, there is a good power suppply thata is a 400 watt . but is 400 watts enogh headroom for overclocking and my system specs.

My system specs are

All in one NEC Drive (Burn everything)

160 Gb SeaGate hardrive

Sony Floppy

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy ZS Gamer Litmited Edition

MSI K8N Neo motherboard

Nivdia Geforce 6800 GT

Anthlon 3200+ 2ghz

And the Neccisities....Mouse KeyBoard Monitor ect.


Help me soon please becuase I have to go in to town later today.

Help will be greatly apprecaited

Thannks
__________________

NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Nivdia Geforce 6800 GT

Anthlon 3200+ 2ghz
Not with those two. That proc is not much of a power grabber, but the 6800gt has its own power connector from the PSU. I'd say you could skim by with 400w, but 500 would be roomier. When your system tries to run harder to work with your games and other programs, it's going to try to consume more power. If your PSU is already maxed out, your system will be impeded by its lack of power.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

i fully agree especially with that vid card
jaksback is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Here's a power supply calculator for you to check:

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

The power supply calculator has you at somewhere around 300 watts, so I would think a 400 watt should be ok.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Yea, luckily it's not an Ultra that takes up so much power with just little performance difference between that and the GT.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

I am very amused right now....I just got a 600 Watt Power supply for 54 bucks! This power supply is high quility and I got it from a (warehouse )store called star surplus located in temecula! I highly reccomand it! If you guys live close of course
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Nice... What make is it?
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 07:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

The name of the makers is iBest power, It is really a nice PSU, quiet and efficient
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 07:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'm about 45mins away from temecula....don't care to drive that far for a PSU you though. I'm fine with paying $100 to have my thermaltake 560w delivered to me. Especially cause I know it'll be probably more efficient....quieter...and in the long run more stable.

EDIT: Don't forget to check the +3.3v, +5v, and +12v rails to see how much they can hold! It doesn't matter if you have an 800w PSU if the +12v rail says it only has a rating of 10a then you're screwed
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 07:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Clicked every accessory (Which I don't even have)..put on a the 6800GT (I only have a 32mb Gf2 =P) 2 HD's, CD-RW, DVD-ROM, NIC, PCI Slots that I don't have filled lol just to see how close exactly to 560 I would even get.

Even with 4 HD's, the CD-RW, DVD-Rom, 6800 GT, two sticks of DDR Ram, every category on the right selected (PCI Cards, external devices, accessories) and a Thoroughbread 2400+ XP chip I've still only hit 511 watts, but I don't have half the crap that I select. I just wanted to see what I'd have to have in order to tax that 560 watter....but you'd have to have everything running at max all at once to actually tax it 100% =P
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.