Camcorder to PC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2004, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to V1|2u5
Default Camcorder to PC?

alrighty, i have a sony Hi8 camcorder that uses the 8 mm tape and all. so i hooked the s-video cable from the camcorder to my ATI radeon 9600 SE s-video slot and i dont know what to do now. Nothing happened i cant send stuff from my camcorder to my pc. did i miss something?
__________________

V1|2u5 is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

actually, the s-video port on your video card is for output, not input

does your camcorder have a firewire/dv/iLink port? what you can do (if your comp doesnt already have it) is get a firewire pci card, get a firewire cable, and connect the camcorder to the pc
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

oops sorry . . . didnt see the Hi8 . . . dont think it'll have those ports . . .
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 07:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

You'll need a video capture card.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 09:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Your camcorder should connect into USB 2.0 or IEEE 1394 port.

You must have at least Service Pack 1a for USB 2.0 to work properly, then Windows XP Professional will handle the rest.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 03:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kangaroo
Your camcorder should connect into USB 2.0 or IEEE 1394 port.
He has a Hi8! those are older and don't have a digital output! you need a capture car like what zerozero said. I have a device called a DVC-80 from Pinnacle Systems that came with video editing software for only 50$, here: http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_g...sterid=1248100
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 07:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Yep - You have an anolog camcorder. You can use any video capture device and connect it with the standard a/v cables.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 07:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

is that a camcorder u bought on ebay not long ago by any chance? i just so9ld mine hehe. i was just curious.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.