Calling all SCSI buffs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2006, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default Calling all SCSI buffs

Hi,
I'm working on setting up a computer with a BioRad GS-700 Imaging Densitometer, which utilizes SCSI. After much frustration, I found that the first SCSI card I had was not able to work with my motherboard. After some research, I ordered a few different types of Adaptec AHA-2940 cards: a 2940 S6 and 2940UW. It turns out that the S6 is also incompatible (I got the infamous "No SCSI boot device found. SCSI BIO not installed!" message). However, I was able to get the AHA-2940UW card working without much of a fight. Luckily, I bought both cards used for $5 or $6 a piece, so I'm not out big money on the S6. Anyways, after getting the 2940UW working, I tried it with a Pinnacle Micro SCSI CD Writer that I had sitting around. The CD writer was detected and only didn't work because I didn't waste time installing drivers for it (I'm not intending to use the CD writer; i just used it as a test). Now, finally, on to the real problem... I now need to set up this BioRad GS-700 densitometer. Unfortunately, when I plug in the GS-700, exactly how I did the CD writer, it isn't detected as the writer was. Would this be because the GS-700 is broken? The GS-700 was a 2nd hand machine with previous owners, so I don't know its past. I tried messing around both with and without a terminator and I do have it set to a SCSI ID that doesn't conflict with the card. I don't think that the version of Windows or other computer specs should matter since the card itself is definitely working and the GS-700 is the only thing causing problems. Yes, I do know for a fact that the 2940 series is adequate for this densitometer. I'm in the business of repairing and reselling medical equipment, so this is for someone other than myself. I have another GS-700 sitting around, so I guess I can try that one, though I'd rather get this one working if possible since the other is pretty much an eyesore given all the staining on it. Any help would be appreciated since I don't have a ton of SCSI experience.
-Collin
__________________

CollinAnderson is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, actually, I just found out that my problem was a bad SCSI cable being used with the densitometer. :P All I need now is the stupid driver for this thing...
__________________

CollinAnderson is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

goog luck to you. i don't know that much about SCSI but i decided to see if i could help. my understanding is that all devices must be terminated so it's little wonder it didn't work with out the terminator
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah, I tried it both with and without. It turns out the driver thing was a windows flaw. For some reason, windows 2000 and XP ask for a driver on alot of SCSI hardware even when it isn't required. Anyways, I'm all good now. Thanks for looking and trying to help.
CollinAnderson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.