Cache vs. Clock speed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2004, 09:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default Cache vs. Clock speed?

Which one of these is best for gaming?

I found a CPU with:
256k Cache
2.17gig clock speed
333 FSB

And one with:
512k Cache
1.9 gig clock speed
333 FSB

Both for about the same price.... which is best for gaming?

Also, is there a huge difference (in gaming) with fsb 333 and fsb 400?


Thanks!
__________________

C_olin is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

The Cache is what you always want to concentrate on. I myself would sacrifice the little bit extra clock speed for that huge leap in Cache..is this L1 or L2 cache? There would be no noticible difference in a 333FSB vs 400FSB. What is the processor on both the computers?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

Here are the full specs for both proccessers...

AMD Athlon XP 2600+ "Barton", 333MHz FSB, 512K Cache Processor - Retail
(limit 5 per customer)

- Specifications -

Model: AMD Athlon XP 2600+
Core: Barton
Operating Frequency: 1.9GHz
FSB: 333MHz
Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/512K
Voltage: 1.65V
Process: 0.13Micron
Socket: Socket A
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
Packaging: Retail Box (Heatsink and Fan included)


-----------------------------------------------


AMD Athlon XP 2700+, 333MHz FSB, 256K Cache Processor - Retail
(limit 10 per customer)

- Specifications -

Model: AMD Athlon XP 2700+
Core: Thoroughbred
Operating Frequency: 2.17GHz
FSB: 333MHz
Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/256K
Voltage: 1.65V
Process: 0.13Micron
Socket: Socket A
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
Packaging: Retail Box (Heatsink and Fan included)



So you are suggesting that i should get the 2600+?

Thanks!
C_olin is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

Oh, and I am ugrading from an:
Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.6 gig
dunno about cache
133 FSB

Will there be a noticable different if i upgrade to the 2600+?
C_olin is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by C_olin
Here are the full specs for both proccessers...

So you are suggesting that i should get the 2600+?

Thanks!
Yes this is just a personal prefernce type deal mainly..and price of course..You are only talking a 200MHZ diff roughly...you will notice a difference..then if that little voice in the back of your head is saying I shouldve went with that 2.17GHZ...no problem make that 1.9GHZ become 2.2GHZ that would be a safe overclock point if you do it right
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

shaweet!

Thanks man, any other poeple's inputs?
C_olin is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 10:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yeah, get the Barton and OC it.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 02:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

i third that opinion.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 03:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by C_olin
Oh, and I am ugrading from an:
Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.6 gig
dunno about cache
133 FSB

Will there be a noticable different if i upgrade to the 2600+?
your xp2000 is running a physical 133Mhz FSB, but it's effective speed is 333Mhz. I think you're wasting your money on the xp2600. if you want better gaming concentrate your purchase on a better video card and forget about your cpu replacement. you also might want to reinstall windows if it's running unusually slow
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 03:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

whats the difference between physical FBS and effective speed?
__________________

C_olin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.