Cable question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2009, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Cable question

Is there anything different about these cables or do they do the same exact thing? Plz let me know.



or




thx
__________________

chara33 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Cable question

Judging by the pic looks like they are exactly the same thing, a male to female USB extension cable.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Cable question

thx phil, that is what i thought as well.
chara33 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Syria
Posts: 147
Send a message via Yahoo to alaa_ecv_tc
Default Re: Cable question

well ..
USB signal is a bit weak .. So long cabels could make a device not recognized or may works very slow or in some conditions it's in the device manager but nothing more to do with ..
also the type of cables is so important .. the cable in the first pic is too long that's mean there must be som way to make signal go throw it to the end ! if there is that's mean's it's better ..
if not ! IT WILL NOT WORK UNLESS IT MADE OF GOLD OR SILVER hahaha ..
In the big end of the cable there may be some kind of repeater or somthing like that << I hope so .

the cable in the second pic is short enough so the type of wires it made of is important .. the cable is very cheap ? don't use .
alaa_ecv_tc is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Cable question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alaa_ecv_tc View Post
well ..
USB signal is a bit weak .. So long cabels could make a device not recognized or may works very slow or in some conditions it's in the device manager but nothing more to do with ..
also the type of cables is so important .. the cable in the first pic is too long that's mean there must be som way to make signal go throw it to the end ! if there is that's mean's it's better ..
if not ! IT WILL NOT WORK UNLESS IT MADE OF GOLD OR SILVER hahaha ..
In the big end of the cable there may be some kind of repeater or somthing like that << I hope so .

the cable in the second pic is short enough so the type of wires it made of is important .. the cable is very cheap ? don't use .
lol wut? that cable on top is no more than a 50FT cable. and the USB signal does not degrade that much or even any over that short of a distance.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Cable question

the cable I got was 3 ft so no worries.
chara33 is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 09:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Cable question

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
lol wut? that cable on top is no more than a 50FT cable. and the USB signal does not degrade that much or even any over that short of a distance.
USB cable's are rated for a very short distance (10-15 ft I think).

Ok, here:
What is the max. length of a USB 2.0 cable? - Everything USB Community

5m is the max length without some kind of repeater or booster in line.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 01:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
pokernod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: *sigh* Currently Alabama
Posts: 167
Send a message via Yahoo to pokernod
Default Re: Cable question

Im running my mouse (I know, doesnt take much for that) on four 6ft cables to my bed across a large bedroom with no problems, have been for over a year, and I have had my keyboard over there the same way. Got tired of changing wireless batteries.....I would have never even tried this but I remember a long time ago on TechTV (when there was such a thing *sigh*) when USB first came out, they hooked all kinds of different lengths of cables and numbers of usb devices up and, Basically they were astonished at what they could get away with. I only did it because I didnt know you couldnt. Now they have this new fangled (country drawl) 2.0, supposed to be stronger, faster signals......Im a bit confused at that site link conversation, I never really saw any documentation as to what they were saying, just some guys talking "Rules are Rules...5 meters!" I have a set of USB speakers that are fairly powerful and have a remote, Im not sure this length would power them very well, but Im going to try it tomorrow just because I didnt know That 5 meters was "The Rule".
pokernod is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 04:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Cable question

Power will degrade over length. It's the same for VGA cables, HDMI cables, ethernet cables, etc. THey can only go so far without active extensions.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 05:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Cable question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alaa_ecv_tc View Post
well ..
USB signal is a bit weak .. So long cabels could make a device not recognized or may works very slow or in some conditions it's in the device manager but nothing more to do with ..
also the type of cables is so important .. the cable in the first pic is too long that's mean there must be som way to make signal go throw it to the end ! if there is that's mean's it's better ..
if not ! IT WILL NOT WORK UNLESS IT MADE OF GOLD OR SILVER hahaha ..
In the big end of the cable there may be some kind of repeater or somthing like that << I hope so .

the cable in the second pic is short enough so the type of wires it made of is important .. the cable is very cheap ? don't use .
Oh boy ware to start, Oh I know....

You Sir are a idiot, USB extension cables are limited to a max of 4 meters as most devices that you would need to use them with like keyboards and mice already have a minimum of 1 meter of cabling already attached that takes it to the maximum of 5 meters.

And no the end plug on the second cable is not a repeater or booster as it would have a second wire leading to a transformer plug, it is nothing more than a chunky robust end, I have one like it and have sold god knows how many of them over the years to know this as fact.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dvi to hdmi cable or hdm cable with dvi adaper NYbadboy911 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-30-2009 12:17 PM
Full Duplex Coaxial Cable Connections mmarshall Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 10-29-2008 08:02 PM
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
PSU Cable Adaptor Question. augest New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-22-2008 07:51 PM
Need to buy a DVI cable Shafra System Upgrades 3 09-20-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.