Buying Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2004, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default Buying Ram

Okay, so I recently installed Windows XP on my computer, and I ended up finding out that I was low on virtual memory. I currently only have 256 RAM so I decided that it's time to get some more.

So, what I'm asking is for advice on what kind of brand to buy if I'm buying 256 or 512. List options for either, please.
Thanks in advance.
__________________

Nick1988 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 05:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i would buy one extra stick of 256MB
www.newegg.com

what's ur current stick? brand?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default

also check www.crucial.com their RAM's supposed to be good and competitively priced. as i would always say, "more is better" so if u have the $$ go for 512
__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Actually, I have two sticks of ram (they came with my CPU). Unfortunately, I only have two sockets as well. Both of them are 128 MB RAM PC100 sticks. Also, I meant I wanted people to list specific brands or even the sticks themselves.
Nick1988 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 07:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

virtual memory isnt ram, its your paging file size.

ram is physical memory.

u can go into /rightclick my computer/properties/advanced/performance settings/advanced/virtual memory(change)/ custome size.... select witch hard drive to use, then what i do is just put 1024mb for Min and Max... i heard u get better performance with them set at equal imites and it prevents fragmentation.
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to DaShizNit609 Send a message via Yahoo to DaShizNit609
Default

yah i heard the same thing jolancer i just don't remember where. i know though if u set them to be the same it prevents fragmentation like you said. which down the line will give you bet
__________________
AMD XP 3000+ @2.47 Ghz
ATI 9600 Pro soon to be 6800 GT
1GB corsair VS 3200
520 Watt aspire PSU
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
2x 80 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
2x 120 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
14.4k modem (seriously)
5x 80mm fans
DaShizNit609 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 09:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

I'll try that, but I still could use some more RAM...So keep the suggestions coming.
Nick1988 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 10:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

*bump* I need some more input.
Nick1988 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Actually it's funny I recently messed with my virtual memory too... allocating more HD space if I ran out of ram... and I noticed my computer freezing up during some games I play.... does anyone know if it has anything to do with the change I made? And how do I go abotu fixing this?
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.