Buying a prebuild Comp O.o - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2005, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 37
Unhappy Buying a prebuild Comp O.o

I don't really have money to outright buy the parts I want so I was thinking of just doing the old prebuild route so I can get a payment plan of some kind that I can manage better. What are good companies for this? I want to get a real nice gaming rig but can't afford to drop hundreds of dollars at a time for parts.

kinslayer is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821

I'd search online for clone pcs. Those are pcs that don't rip you off like company computers like Dell, or Gateway, but you will definitely get what you pay for.

For the record, if you already have an operating system and stuff like that, then it is much cheaper to build one yourself. The computers that you're worried about taking up your money are the ones that we recommend for top-of-the-line stuff, however, you can build a decent computer for only $700 or so that can handle games pretty well.

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 37

Here is what I currently have:

AMD Athelon 2800 (1.9ghz)
Nvidia GeForce FX 5600 256MB
512MB DDR Ram (2 256s)
120GB HD
I have no clue what my powersupply is running at or exactly what type of motherboard I have. I'm at work now I can't really check. I'm sure they are nothing special though.
kinslayer is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave

thats way out of date. Sorry, but thats not going to run next gen games very good at all. A better aproach would be...
AMD Athelon 64 3200+
Leadtek 6600gt or any other brand.
1gb of any ram.
make sure you have at least a 450 watt p/s
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 37

Yeah I know it's out of date that's why I want a new one, lol.

I was thinking of a 6800gt but they are really expensive, but I want something that will last a while. I don't know much about motherboards but for a processor I would like an athelon xp or 64 (depending on price)
kinslayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.