Buying a new PC!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dancpx

Beta member
I am looking to buy a new PC. I am trying to stay within the 800-1000 range. I am a newb with comps though. Are Athlons better then pentiums for gaming? I want as close to a killer gaming machine as I can get for my price. I am curious whethere I should get an Athlon or a Pentium? Also are Dell's good? What are some things I should look for when getting a PC geared toward gaming? And I know DDR ram is better then SD ram. When the comp spec says 1GB Dual Channel DDR SDRAM at 400MHz. Does this mean it is DDR or SD? Does it matter when it says Dual Channel? I really appreciate the advice, and suggestions are very welcome! Thank you

-Dan

Amd is dominating with their 64's, dell sucks compared to what you can build yourself for the same cost. If you want a good game machine the main components you need are AMD 64 939 3500+, theres a few of mobo to chose from for socket 939, most are good but make sure your processer socket is compatible with motherboard. For ram you need 512 minimum 1 gig is reccommended. And there is a wide variety of graphics cards but nvidia 6800 is your best bet, you can get one for under 400 bucks.
And i suggest newegg.com but zipzoomfly.com and tigerdirect.com are also good

pentiums- applications
amd- gaming- especially the amd 64

I personally don't like dells, i think they are a bit cheap feeling, and it isnt as easy to upgrade, as u need to get everything from dell.

yes ddr is better than sd ram, but ddr sdram is better. and the dual channel ram is alot better than single channel. (this explains it very well, http://www.kingston.com/newtech/MKF_520DDRWhitepaper.pdf)

i personally would pick option 3, build your own, but out of those 2 i would get the first one, but you still could build a really good pc for the money.

also i think the secound one has intergrated graphics, so it really isn't up for much gaming.

Same here,
I would like to choose option 3.