Buying A New Mobo? Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2005, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Exclamation Buying A New Mobo? Help

Okay, I've come to a decision.

I have been wanting to upgrade my motherboard for quite some time now but I just havn't got around to it because of all the upgrades I've been getting recenly (Money probs ).

I was wondering about what motherboard to get and why also what hassle does it come with - setting it up? I'am sure it is just a stright forward switch, I'am i correct? If not, please explain more

Also since I live in the UK, I don't use webistes such as NewEGG so i would be using the following

#1 Http://Ebuyer.co.uk
#2 Http://PCwcomponentcentre.co.uk
#3 Http://Overclockers.co.uk

If anyone is bored and feel like pointing someout that would be alot of help!

Thanks
__________________

ApM is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 23
Default

You're firstly going to need to buy a mainboard your processor tolerates. Your processor is socket 478, so you need to buy a mainboard that is compatible with socket 478 Pentium 4 processors.

If I were you, I would save up some more and get at least a socket 754 motherboard with a AMD64 processor too, becuase whenever I buy a new motherboard, I try to make sure I won't be replacing it for some time.

Eh, it's your call though.
__________________

strine is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

novatech.co.uk are pretty good too...
and I bought my gfx card £50 cheaper than anywhere on lowestontheweb.co.uk

The hard drive will need to be formatted with a new mobo. Some windows refuse to run after major hardware changes... it should be a straight swap so long as your existing components fit on the board somewhere especially your processor! ...but you knew that
rememberme is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

True, I was thinking about buying a new processer, hard-drive and mobo, when I come to think of it I've spent double on upgrading it, anyways that not a issue , So for instance just say I did get a AMD64 could you ponit out some mobo's for them at a decent price
ApM is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

That seems an excuse to spend money

I was in the same situation a month ago and decided to go with the mobo in my siggy. It will run everything you have, has great features for a mobo and if u do decide to upgrade processor... will run the top end P4s coz they are still made as 478s...

Doesn't have PCIe which might be a problem in a years time or so if you decide to upgrade gfx - but by then you will want to completly rebuild for a 64bit processor and windows64. IMO
rememberme is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 23
Default

For socket 754 CPUs, go with the DFI Lanparty

For socket 939, go with that neo plantinum thingie... I forgot. :P
strine is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

So if I was getting a AMD64 and I was going to upgrade my mobo what would be a suggestion? Cheap as possible please .
__________________

ApM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.