Business computer error message help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2005, 12:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 92
Default Business computer error message help!!!

This is a message i'm recieving on my Dads business computer--
a few seconds after my active desktop shuts down, and the Blue screen from hell comes up and says--

stop:0x000000D1(0x00000015 0x00000002,0x00000000,0xEB6A2B46)
Driver Irql not less or equal

it says to uninstall any newly installed software or hardware and my dad claims he hasnt installed any.

Please any help!!
__________________

crashman009 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i doubt it, but does safe mode work? if it does, look at the event viewer
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 92
Default

yes, safe mode does work

we are having him boot in safe mode and copy his work to a floppy and transfer it to his other (not as important computer)
so he can finish it
crashman009 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Could just be a faulty driver, check your device manager
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Hardware driver conflict. Go the the device manager in Safe Mode: anything wiht an exclamation point listed next to the device? He may have a hardware failure such as sound card, or other installed PCI device. IRQL error suggests a bad PCI card or corrupted driver for one of the installed PCI hardware components.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 92
Default

i got on a site called annoyances.org and they had a huge page of people that have complained about it
some of them are saying that if some of your pci cards are cluttered together then you need to spread them out.
My dad has a soundcard,networkcard, and some other carrd all in the bottom three pci spaces. do u think if i spread them as much as i can apart it will be fixed?
and if i do do that then can i just move them and boot up to windows or do I have to do any changes in Bios

I hope yall understood my bad grammer
crashman009 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 11:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crashman009
i got on a site called annoyances.org and they had a huge page of people that have complained about it
some of them are saying that if some of your pci cards are cluttered together then you need to spread them out.
My dad has a soundcard,networkcard, and some other carrd all in the bottom three pci spaces. do u think if i spread them as much as i can apart it will be fixed?
and if i do do that then can i just move them and boot up to windows or do I have to do any changes in Bios

I hope yall understood my bad grammer
The only thing that that would help is the heat displacement, worth a try I guess.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 11:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 92
Default

i cant really do anything to it at the moment cause he is working and he doesnt think his 15 year old son knows what hes doing, if he doesnt leave in the next 30 minutes theres nothing i can do. My older brother and I have to go see our grandparents. Ill try and tell my oldest brother who majored in computer science what yall said. Thanks for the help
crashman009 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

windows update has a bad habit of installing new drivers for you if your settings are to install automatically. What could have happened is a driver got corrupted during the download
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.