Burning Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2005, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default Burning Issue

My PC can not burn CD's. I did an update and then I was able to burn, once. But now it won't burn at all. I've changed burners, but I'm still getting the same thing. I've tried Nero 6 (with all updates), and used windows media player, but it doesn't seem to see the cd in the drive when I want to burn. I've checked the device manager, and it shows that the drive is there and recognized. Help!! I've thrown in a DVD as well, and it won't play.
__________________

__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

check the cord. It's probably lose...that's what happens to me.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

what error message do you get?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

no...he/she doesn't get an error message...so it like...isn't even reading the drive. Actually, it regonizes it, so it knows that the cable's plugged in, but the cable's loose.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 03:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Ya, it's not an error message, it sees the drive, it's just not recognizing that there is a cd in the drive to burn
__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 04:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

but you can read cd's?

have you tried uninstalling from device manager and restarting to have it pick up again?

there might be a chance your burner is broken.

have you tried updating the firmware on this drive?

have you used this kind of media before?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 05:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

I'll try removing the drivers from device manager and see how that works. I've switched burners, and I'm still getting the same problem, and I know the second burner is ok. I've used Nero and win media to burn before. I'll check for the latest drivers, see if that helps. thanks
__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 06:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Do you have 2nd drive on the cable? Some reason every now an then my older 32x drive ****s with my new burner...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

I got it working, thanks for all your help. It just ended up being the IDE cable. I changed it, and now it works like a charm. Thanks all.
__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

ack, it didn't end up being the IDE cable. But I tried another burner, (yet another one), and it works. I guess the old burner was flaky. Anyways, thanks people.
__________________

__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.