Burning dvd's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2004, 12:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14
Default Burning dvd's

Right now I have a CD Rom in my first drive and Im adding a 8x Dual format DVD-R +R drive tomorow. Will it be possible to take a movie say "zoolander" Put it in the dvd R and rip it to my hard drive then from their burn it a blank DVD.

One more qusetion what is DVD ram used for???

MXguy741 is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 12:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod

yeah you can totally do that - usually whatever program you use will have a rip feature, if not just download one

My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 01:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14

Ya it said it was coming with easy cd/DVD creator 6
MXguy741 is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 02:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog

Bleh, the Nero Suite is better.
chog is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 03:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

The concept of using DVD burner n CD burner is the same.

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 11:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14

Would this be good software, keep in mind that i still have easy cd creator 6
MXguy741 is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 12:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506

Try DVDSHRINK. It's free and it's good, It needs NERO to burn it on the DVD but will allow backup of copyrighted cd (Same as DVDX Copy from 321 studios before the court ruling. As to DVD RAM, it is just another DVD format. A DVD RAM may be used as a portable HDD (same as a formatted CD-RW) and is very useful but again, not all DVD recognize them.
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 07:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

I totally agree DVDshrink is free software and that's all you need. dvd-ram died out, it was never meant to be probably because the storage was low and it was too slow
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 01:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 36

I'm a third for DVD Shrink. For the price (free haha) it is the best software out there...it works great.

I've also used Roxio (with absolutely no success for DVDs), and I've used Nero (with DVD Shrink obviously). I've used the Intervideo DVD Burner too, which you can download a trial version that lasts for 5 days off of www.download.com
d14dsp1k3 is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 01:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268

DVDRam is mainly used for storing information and is similar to a hard drive, in other words a file can be put anywhere that there is an empty space, or spread over a disk...they are not 'linear' like a normal DVD -/+ disk.

DVDRam disks can also hold more than 4.7gig of data (9.4 gig is max I think).

They have a rewrite life of over 100,000 rewrites (far more than any other DVD RW format).

They have a 'working life' of 30 years.

They are designed more for data but are very good at video, with the other formats being designed more for video but good at data, but not if the data changes.

Like HD's they do not need 'lead ins' and lead outs or 'finalizing'.

They are bootable.

DVD-Recorders (the standalone TV ones) sometimes use DVDRam as their media. So if you have a RAM standalone you can save some headaches if you can play the media in your DVDWiter to transfer to the HD for editing.

DVDRam is not a 'dead' format' a lot of the LG range ofDVDWriters are triple format (+, - and DVDRAM). Its just that the other formats (and lets be HONEST) are good at making playable DVD-Video disks that play on standalones.

From the above it might sound like I'm a DVDRam fan, well I dont ever use it as I am to busy 'backing up' 'files' to the other DVD formats (via DVDShrink) to be bothered about it..........


roho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.