Burning Bootable CDs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2006, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
Default Burning Bootable CDs

I need to make a copy of my Windows Server 2003 to install on my other machine and I have a question.

I use Nero 6 and I have the .iso file, if I just burn it as a normal data CD will it work?

Or do I have to make the bootable CD where I have to make a floppy disk too?

Thank you.

Zoness is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 03:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558

Nero has an option to burn a cd image (which is what the iso file is).

You'll need to choose that option, otherwise you'll have a cd with one file on it (the iso file).

<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
ulater6000's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000

Some burning programs have an option where you can make it a bootable cd.
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25

Well I burned them with Nero but none of the CDs will boot. Anyone else seems to be able to make bootable CDs fine except me so I wondered if I was doing something wrong.
Zoness is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 04:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

I believe there is a file called Microsoft Corporation.img that you need to pull off the original CD and put on the burned one to make it bootable. You need ISObuster for this.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 09:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to zdude255

Make sure your motherboard is configured to boot from CD if possible. Most default settings will boot Floppy>HD>CD, which is undesirable if you want to boot from CD with a HD partition still bootable.

zdude255 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.