Burner Not Finishing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2005, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to Brisky
Question Burner Not Finishing

Hey guys I am yet again calling upon your unearthly forces.

My burner is not working right and I need to know if I just need to replace it or if it has happened in the past.

Here is the situation.

When I go to burn a CD it will get about half way done and just keep spinning the cd and the computer thinks really hard.

I have even left it going overnight and it still shows the same simptoms.

Even with different buring programs, but the computer itself won't hang as the programs can close and all but even after they do it .

So is it the burner or just my computer?

Thanks again!
__________________

__________________
Future PC Specs:

DFI LP nForce 4 SLI-D
nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX
AMD 64 X2 3800
DDR 400 OCZ
WD Raptor 74 Gig
Thermaltake Black Tsunami Tower
Thermaltake Hardcano 12
Metalic Blue Ultra X 500w PSU
Plextor black DVD-R
Brisky is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 04:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

How old is the burner? What are your current specs? What is the speed of the Burner? Did you try the burner in another machine?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to Brisky
Default

I am running a 400mhz P2
Windows XP Home
256mb of ram

The burner is like 3 years old. It's a TDK 24x CDRW drive.
__________________
Future PC Specs:

DFI LP nForce 4 SLI-D
nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX
AMD 64 X2 3800
DDR 400 OCZ
WD Raptor 74 Gig
Thermaltake Black Tsunami Tower
Thermaltake Hardcano 12
Metalic Blue Ultra X 500w PSU
Plextor black DVD-R
Brisky is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 12:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Mine does that sometimes too, on my laptop. What programs do you use to burn?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 12:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to Brisky
Default

Nero 6.6
Roxio 6

MusicMatch seems to work most of the time.
__________________
Future PC Specs:

DFI LP nForce 4 SLI-D
nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX
AMD 64 X2 3800
DDR 400 OCZ
WD Raptor 74 Gig
Thermaltake Black Tsunami Tower
Thermaltake Hardcano 12
Metalic Blue Ultra X 500w PSU
Plextor black DVD-R
Brisky is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 02:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try other discs.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 02:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

try newer CPU....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 07:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
try newer CPU....
That is not the problem.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 08:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
That is not the problem.
My brother had a 700mhz celeron with 386mb ram and winXP. I bought them a new cd burner 52x32x52x. Cd's would never burn or they would burn messed up. Turns out, the CPU could not keep up with the burning process. (I did a fresh reload as well). I then built a 2.4ghz Celeron D machine with 512 RAM. CD Burner works fine.

Get my story? Its possible.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 08:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Any CPU can keep up with the burning speed. Almost any HD will also be able to keep up. If its slower it will just burn slower. You should enable "Determine maximum speed" in Nero.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.