Burn Speed Confusion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2004, 12:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default Burn Speed Confusion

My dvd burner says it burns at 8x max. If I use a dvd+r disc that says 4x max on it, it burns at 6x. If I use a dvd-r disc that says 4x on it, it burns at 8x. What's the deal, why the +/- difference and why do the discs only say 4x max on them?
__________________

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

those might have been built in era of 4X DVD-R's. so written on them 4X, as if they are capable of 8X write, then OK, what harm it is?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

wouldnt you advertise your product's faster max speed if it was capable? I thought thats what MAX meant.
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 12:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

sometimes the product can cross the maximum barrier, but this isnt anything to advertise, as might be manufacturers arent aware of that thing.

as if this would be the case, then CPU makes should advertise with their products that this processor of 2.0 can be overclocked to 2.2, but they dont, or do they?

understood?
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

i dunno my mobo says safe-overclocking on the box.

whatever I just thought it was strange.
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

well, safe over clocking is controlled by softwares and are in limits. as MSI recently introduced the D.O.T (Dynamic Over Clocking), same O/C facility is now provided by ATI graphic cards (called OverDrive) that you can over clock the cards to some extent. but obviously not Brutal Over Clocking.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.