Builted First Comp. But Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2004, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default Builted First Comp. But Problems

Hello,
I'm having serious problems with my computer and every forum I go it takes days for responses.

Problem: The problem is my monitor goes on standby mode Green>Orange while HD,CD-RW,DVD,Fans are running.

Amptron
K7T Turbo 2 with AMD Athlon 2400+
Power Supply DC Out Put 188Watts
60GB Hard Drive Installed w/operatin system.
CDRW
DVDR

I just have no idea what to do. I even tested a lower AMD Cpu (2000) and still is not working.

Thank you.
__________________

TechBlue is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Do you get any beeps when you start up? Does the monitor turn on at start up and then turn off later or does it never come on at all?
__________________

ebolaosu is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Default

To tell yo the truth, I would put in a larger Power Supply Unit, something not over the top like a 350Watt Enermax would be good becuase it sounds like you are getting robbed of power with everything running.
Tiberius is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

May need to check the memory. You may have a bad module. Try disconnecting everything but the; video card, hard drive, memory, and make sure the monitor is plugged in and none of the connecting pins are bent. If the system boots up I would think it is power supply issue. A 188W power supply??? I would definately recommend going with at least a 300W or higher. What video card do you have? You might be drawing too much power.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 01:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

The memory was tested on another system and worked.

I have a Geforce 2 64MB Video Card, Ati 7200m, Nvidia Vanta 8MB, tested all three. I hear one beep just like my running computers.
TechBlue is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 02:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

What mobo do u own ..... Does it by any chance have an onboard/integrated video card?
Make sure u haven't accidentally connected the monitor to that.

Also ... i too think ur power supply might be insuffecient ...check the power consumpsion of ur system .. Powersupply Calculator
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
I'm having serious problems with my computer and every forum I go it takes days for responses.
are these fast enough responses? ^^
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 03:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

You need more Power Dude. What did the link tell ya Preet gave ya?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 04:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Gentlemen, I think we have achieved greatness with the quick posting, hehe. LOL

__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 05:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks guys for all your help ! I will be testing that PS.
You guys actually posted more than a forum with 100K members!
__________________

TechBlue is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.