Built new system...can't detect SATA hard drive while installing windows! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2005, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to quietb05
Default Built new system...can't detect SATA hard drive while installing windows!

I just built a new system using a SATA150 WD hard Drive and while trying to install windows it says it cant find a hard drive. The motherboard is GIGABYTE GA-K8VM800M. Anyone know why this could be?
__________________

quietb05 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You need to install the drivers, you should of got a driver floppy disk with the motherboard, if not download them, and put them onto a bootable floppy.

When in windows setup (the first stage with the blue screen) at the bottom it will tell you to press F6 to install 3rd party scsi drivers, press F6 sometime on that screen. At the end of that it will give you the option to install the SATA drivers.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to quietb05
Default

on the site the drivers are 6.35mb how am i supposed to put that on a floppy
quietb05 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to quietb05
Default

bump
quietb05 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by quietb05
on the site the drivers are 6.35mb how am i supposed to put that on a floppy
You have the wrong drivers than, because SATA drivers are on a floppy.
Him is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

http://www.seagate.com/support/kb/di...ta_detect.html
Here is a link that discribes the issue that you are having. And the fix for it. Unforunately those drivers are in a windows.exe format. That kinda sucks because for a new build, you need it on a floppy. Try calling gigabyte and finding out what their solution would be to get the drivers onto a floppy for OS install.

I use Seagate because they give you plenty for free tools to make all of these issues a thing of the past.

I think you could make a CD ISO image of that driver set. NOt sure if it would work though.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

most of the time those things are just little installer files that'll copy it all over to the floppy for you....that or they are infact the wrong ones
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I'm sure if you scoured the driver CD that came with the MOTHERBOARD, you will find the correct files that need to be put on a floppy. That download from the gigabyte site is probably ment for people using IDE harddrives with SATA onboard, whom want to install a SATA hard drive. OS is already installed.

The Driver Disk from gigabyte has to have the file for the floppy on it.
Normally it's in the VIA folders. Make sure you select the right driver for your OS.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to quietb05
Default

i have scoured the motherboard cd and i know what directory the files are in ij ust dont know which files they are....the whole directory wont fit on a floppy
quietb05 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 07:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

This is why I went IDE lol.(also because it was on sale)

Try contacting cus support and asking them which ones to copy over.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.