Built new computer, no picture - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2004, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default Built new computer, no picture

Hello all, this is my first post. I need some help. I just built my first computer. Everything seems to power up and come on but there is no picture on the monitor. The hard drive is spinning, all fans are on, lights are on, but no picture. There are a couple thing that I wasn't sure what to do with. Here are pictures of them. Thanks for any help or ideas.

This one comes from the power supply




There are 2 of these





Also want to make sure I have the hard drive set right. I removed the jumper from the pins. Did I read the diagram right? This is my only hard drive.



I also have these 2 cables, the top came with the motherboard and the bottom with the video card.



I am using an NVidea 5900XT video card. There is no onboard video on the motherboard. Thanks for the help!!

Jeff
__________________

beeler311 is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 11:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you say you removed the jumper from the Hard Drive, this may be confusing the BIOS
other than that, it can be: something has not been connected properly or at all, the BIOS may be dead, the video card may not be seated properly, the video cable may be faulty or not plugged in correctly, or there is something wrong with the monitor or video card
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 11:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

I removed the jumper because that's what it looked to me like the diagram was saying to do if it was the only drive. That's why I posted the pic of the diagram; to make sure I read it right. I pulled the video card and put it back it; unplugged the cable and redid them. Everything is brand new. Video card comes on, lights up, fans on it come on. Monitor isn't faulty. If the bios is dead, how do you fix it? Again, everything is new. hmmm
beeler311 is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you'd have to replace the mobo which is a big hassle, do you have a warranty?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Yeah, I just put it all together today so I can return anything I need to. I just wouldn't think anything would be broken from the beginning. And I hate to return something without knowing if that is the problem.
beeler311 is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to ccohn2000
Default

Does it beep when it starts up? Does the monitor get a signal? ( Meaning does the light on the monitor go from amber to green after you boot up? )If none of that happens, return the board. I actually had that problem last weekend and it was the MB. You did the right jumper setting on the HD. The other connectors are probably for things you don't have. The cables are for serial ATA, which you don't appear to have. One of the unplugged power connectors looks like your floppy drive. Did you put one of those in? Another, in that same pic looks like a loose USB connector. Those don't normally just lay around. What is the other end connected to?
ccohn2000 is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 12:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

that is for a 7 in 1 memory card reader that I bought. It has 2 usbs on the front and you have to plug the cable into one of the usbs on the back of the case. the monitor light does not change colors and there is no beep. However, I don't a speaker hooked up to it.
beeler311 is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 12:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

1x,2x,4x,or 8x agp slot? Same question for the card? Might have a 4x slot with a 8x card.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 12:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Both are 8x
beeler311 is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 02:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

is this the speaker? i hooked it up to the speaker plug and get a VERY faint blip when I turn the computer on.

__________________

beeler311 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.