building ur own case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2004, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default building ur own case

ok, i want to build my own case for my current pc, and then once i get my new parts, il use this case i will build

How should i go to build a custon made case? It doesnt hafta be like all the other rectangular cases, i 2wana be a lil creative.

Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

make it aluminum


srry but im not that experienced
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 07:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

i dunno if this is a good odea as cooling wise or w/e. but something that all in plexiglass could be cool no?
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

hmm... ill keep comin up with differ ideas... u could just get a regular Full Tower.. WHITE... and take it to one of those Air Brush places.. and have them Air Brush somethin TIIGHT on it!! ill keep thinking for you!! LoL.. i love tryin ta think of somethin tight for a case... so gimme some more time and ill try n think of some thing else for you!!!
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you're good at welding, use aluminium
clear cases can look good, but you'd need to pay more attention to tidying up the cables

I personally would just buy a new case then mod it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

just lay out ur components on table, no casing, no walls, and unique and creative as well. and cooling = no problem
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i would make it out of some kind of metal cause... the aluminum/steel probably helps sheald the pc from EMI and other such interferences.

it might be more productive to just by a cheap case and modify it to your liking.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

I just picked up a copy of Maximum PC, and some guy build a case out of plexiglass in the shape of a pyramid. He built a square base, and then added the pyramid shape on top. Where each of the peices of pyramid met, he added glass hinges so he could open it up if he needed too. Anyways, I thought it was pretty cool cause he didn't use the same standard shape we are all used too.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 10:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

You could buy separate plexiglass pieces, and then, use some...thing to stick 'em all together. Stupid idea, I know, but I would explain it more in depth, just can't remember how.
Regulus is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 10:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

i think ima stick to my case finally, i d have a full antec towner in blue. il just mod it. any ideas for modding it?
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.