Building a Server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2004, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default Building a Server

I am building a server for my father soon, and I need to know a few things. Are there any sites that deal specifically with server hardware? What are the major differences and advantages/disadvantages between dual Pentium 4s or Dual Xeons? I need a mother board that supports SCSI drives and can have RAID 5 configuration.

BTW: I dont know the budget I dont need a top of the line server, more mid-range server is more aht he wants.

Thank You
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

Come on...None of you guys know a single thing about servers???
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

No. not really

I just use a regular computer as a server
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 07:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

I am not an expert in the server world but there are considerations as to type of memory(more expense for correct type), in general you may require additional memory to insure the load is cared for. I would first define the specifications and then research Intel for the motherboard you propose to use. They have motherboards for building servers. One other source is Dell, I know of a business that uses Dell servers and have no problems. At least I have given you something to think about, hope it helps in your decision making.
Marvel is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 08:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

Well he wants to biuld his own, he currently has a Dell server but its getting too slow and he needs a new one. Do you at least know of a good server mobo Manufacturer?
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

I would start the building process by picking your processer(s).

I recommend either Dual Xeons or Dual AMD Opterons. Both have more than one motherboard avaliable and I'm sure you can choose to what best suites your needs.

Best thing I could find for you:

Chart of Dual CPUS

Note: Remember that AMD has a different archetechure. So although the amounts may very, It could be just like the XPs and 64s from AMD. I'm not that well educated on the server stuff
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default

I would go with dual Xeons probaly. You're also best off with SCSI harddrives, which are really good but also really expensive. The more RAM the better. I have seen configs with 5GB+. Also be sure to get a redundant power supply as servers are known to take up huge chunks of power. If you can run two power supplies, you should be fine.

If you could give us more information on what this server is going to be used for, we may be able to give you a little more help.
Moses08 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 11:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

We are going to be using it for a terminal server and a webhosting server.
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.