Building new PC ---Need input! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2004, 06:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

These games will work with a lower CPU (don't know what's minimum) but AMD's are definetely the best for gaming.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Piracy
Default

Do you think it is worth the extra money to get the raptor hard drives (10,000 rpm's) ?
__________________

Piracy is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default

IF you plan to have max out FPS in doom3 and HL2 I strongly urge you to get a FX-53 939pin. It is expensive, as most people here will agree with me. You get what you pay for though, I would die for a AMD64 939 system, but Im broke =(.

I see you have a VALUERAM on your list. For 226 dollar you can get something better, like a corsair xms, crucial ballstix or mushkin.
__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

yes, if u are using raid0 it will, but you can run out of space quickly with only 74GB
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default

Yes the raptor drives are fast, 10,000RPM and SATA drives are a tad faster than IDE's.
__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Piracy
Default

Is my mobo compatible with that?
Piracy is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

yes
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Piracy
Default

Major, Do you reccomend a different mobo for my processor, I really dont want to spend 200 more on a proccessor...Even if it is 10-15 times faster.

I dont need future proof either, in the future I will be upgrading mobo and processor...

I have the money.


Also, do you recomend any other sites that have computers prebuilt?

Like www.ibuypower.com

www.alienware.com

www.falcon-nw.com

etc?

Or are they all rip offs and i am better off building my own?
Piracy is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You are better of building your own.
I see if I can find a good mobo for your CPU.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I think your mobo is one of the best for 940
Maybe another members knows a better mobo for 940.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.