BuiLDinG NeW PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2004, 05:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default BuiLDinG NeW PC

will Kingston Hyper X 1GB PC4000 (512MBx2) run good in the Asus K8V SE Deluxe... or does that MoBo not support it/ that good ??

AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Clawhammer
Asus K8V SE Deluxe Socket 754
Kingston Hyper X 1GB PC4000 (512MBx2)
Aspire 500Watt PSU
Seagate 120GB 7200RPM 8MB Cache
*not sure what GFx Card to get, those parts run me lower on cash!!*
..i was thinkin the ATI Radeon 9800XT 256MB..

but will all those parts work and run correctly.. i know the CPU will run on the MoBo, and the PSU is fine too... just wasnt sure about the 1GB PC4000...
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

since the ramd doesnt run in duel channel, u could get just 1 stick of 512 and use the rest on a better gfx card, that would server u better performance wise.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

yea ive heard that the Socket 754 doesnt mobos dont run dual channel.. so does havein 2 sticks of somethin not really do anything.. or does it still show some improvement??
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Don't get socket 754, it doesn't have any future. Instead get the socket 939, that's what AMD will be working on for a while.

Here is a good stable motherboard- http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...127-181&depa=1

and here is a nice socket 939 amd athlon 64 cpu-
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-463&depa=1
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

well i already got a new K8V SE Deluxe.. and this machine will hold me good for the next few years to come!! i mean its the 64 3400+ with 1GB PC4000.. and if i really need to upgrade ill get the 3700+.. but when it comes to another upgrade in the next 2-3 years.. ill be grabbin me a socket 939 or whatever comes out then.. so i think the AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Clawhammer will run perfect for this next few years to come with 1GB PC4000 and a good GFx Card and everything else!!
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 09:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Well then your set.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 10:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

ARIGHT.. GOOD STUFF... PC4000 will run good then?? it better not mess up!!
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 09-19-2004, 07:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

the reality is anything can mess up .They have a Specifications page that shows you all the memory tested on the board.
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 03:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

hmm.. i was just curious.. cuz when u read the specs on it.. it says PC2100, PC2700, PC3200 for the ram ... but ive heard people usin PC4000 in their PCs... so im guessin the Asus K8V SE Deluxe will run it.. im hopin it will run and not over heat or cause somethin bad.. cuz i dont like waistin money....
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.