Building New Computer, No Display, Please Help Me Correct Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2005, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Angry Building New Computer, No Display, Please Help Me Correct Problem

I am in the process of building a new computer.

Mother board: Gigabyte GA- 8IPE1000 Pro-G
Processor: Pentium 4, 3 GHz, 800 MHz FSB
Memory: Mushkin DDR 1 GB PC 3200
Video Card: Gigabyte ATI Radeon 9250

Here is the problem I'm having:

I installed the MOBO, Processor, Memory, hard drive, and video card. Booted the computer just to check before proceeding. The CPU fan starts, but I don't get any video. I thought that maybe it was the video card, so I removed the new card, and installed my old working video card. Still nothing. So I thought it was a problem with the mobo. I returned the MOBO. The new MOBO arrived today, and installed it...still no video. So then I removed the new processor, and installed my processor from the old computer, the one I'm using to post this, still nothing.

I have built three computers before this one without problems. Can someone please help me figure out what is causing this problem?


CornDog is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 06:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby

does the vid card have an external power input? If so make sure you have plugged in one of the power plugs. Also do you have to correct RAM?


Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
aspire's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308

power supply?
my guess is that your power supply is crappy and cant power the system
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.


The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default Problem solved...Thanks!

Hey Guys,

Thanks for the help. The vidio card does not have external power. I took the power supply (Vantec) out and replaced with a known working power supply. The new power supply is defective. Thanks so much for the help!
CornDog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.