building new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2004, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Unhappy building new computer

I have recently put together a new computer ,I used an AMD based motherboard combo with processor.

I attached all componets , which are new and have been checked in another unit.

There is power to all componets but there is no picture on the monitor .

So it hard to tell if the harddrive is even working. (it does work in other machines?

Any suggestions on how to get this thing working??


mebrat598 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

I used an AMD based motherboard combo with processor.
Good choice

Well.....I swear this is the 10th time in like 3 days I've suggested this....buuuuut it sounds like your CPU mah man. Thats usually the common case when it powers up like fans spinning and all that jazz...power is clearly on...but nothing happens....Does it POST...does it beep? Does it do ANYTHING at all? If not....then theres a good chance your CPU is Damaged...or incorrectly installed...Did you buy it as a combo? If so RMA it......especially if you've said you've tried ALL other components in another machine and they worked. Suppose you could try taking off the heatsink and reseating it.....also try clearing the CMOS for the hell of it and not only use the jumpers but remove the battery too. If you got a spare CPU put that in the motherboard that way if it boots up you KNOW its the CPU...if it still doesn't boot....then it is the motherboard. Bout all I can suggest to ya's Good luck hope you get it working

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
bobojuice's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice

Check all your components and make sure they're all securely insterted into their slots. Ram, Video card, etc.... This is the most common problem when starting up a new computer. Also if you have any beep codes going on, check your MOBO manual and see what they mean. It could give you various hints as to what it could be. Good luck..
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
bobojuice is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

this happend to me, try the gfx card, i took it in the car to the shop, and the ride shook it enough to get it working, wierd
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 03:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

if it is giving a single beep, then the computer is fine, it's just a problem with the monitor or cable, try a different cable for the monitor and see if it helps
if it is giving more than one beep, listen to what they are (i.e. 2 long, 1 short) and look up in your motherboard manual what the code is
if it's not giving any beeps at all, it could be the motherboard or the chipset. first thing make sure all the components are in properly, sometimes it doesn't POST if a component is not in properly. if that doesn't work, replace the battery on the motherboard, then if that doesn't work, try and get it RMA'd
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 03:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49

does ur monitor get a signal when you first turn it on, then suddenly go off before anything can appear on the screen, but the fans keep going? I had this problem when my computer was overheating. Sometimes the computer would work after about 20mins but 1 day it didnt comp back on even when left to cool right down. When this happened I just took the heatsink on and off and it booted, I suggest that

s0M30n3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.