Building my own rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 02:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default Building my own rig

Well I'm planning to put together my own PC but I don't know where I'm to begin. Can you help me out with some recommendations on the actual Hardware to get? I can get everything slightly below factory direct or slightly below enployee discount because of my uncle's job so I plan to buy everything from him. Sorry for all the questions I'm more of a software guy than a hardware guy.

I'm looking for a nice 64bit system.

I'm not a big gamer at all but I do want a 128-256 meg ATI Raidon varient.

As for Hard Drives I hg 7200RPMave a 80gig 7200RPM, 120gi, and a 10gig at an unknown RPM. Can I get a large tower case to put all three of these in one PC? Also the 80 and 120 are IDE so is the 10 but it is from my broken Xbox I'm sure with some modification it's compatible for a PC right?

I got all the keyboard, speaker, and moniter junk so I just need the PC.

What are good NIC cards that come with a hardware firewall?

Do you think it's a bad time to build a PC now with HD-DVD, Blue Ray, and Windows Vista re-shaping computers in late 2006?

What is some of the better cooling fans you can buy for the tower, chips, expansion bays?

What is a nice floppy bay that supports multi media such as flash and floppy media?

What is a good type of RAM, I plan to have 2.5gig or 3 gig I know it's not really needed but when I can get the stuff cheap why not.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Can you help me out with some recommendations on the actual Hardware to get?
Sure

Quote:
Can I get a large tower case to put all three of these in one PC?
You dont really need a large tower to such a thing. A regular Mid-tower will do just fine. As for the XBOX HD, I'm not really sure how easy it is to throw that in a PC. I know it is IDE still, though.

Quote:
Do you think it's a bad time to build a PC now with HD-DVD, Blue Ray, and Windows Vista re-shaping computers in late 2006?
Haha, its always a bad time to build a computer if you are worried about new technologies around the bend Now is a good as time as ever to build.

Quote:
What is some of the better cooling fans you can buy for the tower, chips, expansion bays?
Well, you said that you arent a big hardware guy, so I doubt that you will be overclocking. Just as long as you have at least 2 80mm case fans plus the PSU fan, then thats all you need. THe rest of the fans can remain stock.

Quote:
What is a good type of RAM, I plan to have 2.5gig or 3 gig I know it's not really needed but when I can get the stuff cheap why not.
For your needs (still assuming you wont be overclocking), any kind of generic/valueram will be fine. Generic/valueram perform no differently than overclocking ram unless you overclock
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320
Default

Windows Vista will need a direct X 9 graphics card to run.
Ati radeon 9500 or higher or nvidia 5600 or higher. (if you go pci express just get a radeon x300se you will be set)
__________________
Grayfox is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well if u want a radeon then go 9800pro for about 110 120$.worried bout being obsolete go with the intel 64 bit edition or go dual core.a 3.0ghz int64ed is 210 or 220$.for a cpu fan go with the cooler master hyper6+. received a 10 in maximum pc mag and its a kick *** product.55$.
and putting the hard drive into the pc is ez its going from pc to xbox which is hard. dvd birner 16x. and floppy will do.
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Uhhh, a 9800 Pro is an AGP card. I forgot to recommend something for a vid card. It kinda depends on how much gaming you do. From ATi, I would recommend the X800XL. Its definitely one of the better priced vid cards from ATi. If you wanted a suggestion from Nvidia, perhaps you could consider a 6600GT.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Get an AMD64 based system, definitely, if you're concerned with running Vista x64 someday.

The current crop of Intel x86-64 chips seem to be a bit behind the curve when running 32 bit software.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

what mobo do you plan on using??
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Not sure yet....

As for Vista there will be no X64 verson. The entire OS is 64 bit but offers 32 compatability.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 07:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

It doesn't matter if they call it a separate edition or not, the fact remains that its a totally different platform.

That being said, the Intel 64 bit stuff right now isn't up to par with the AMD stuff.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 07:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

A full tower is good if you have the space. I have a Xaser III with plenty of airflow for multiple drives etc and plenty of "growing" room. Don't skimp on the power supply if you will be running a lot of drives.
__________________

__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.